Leaving Brasov/Romania...birthday eve!


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Brasov » Brasov
July 18th 2007
Published: July 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

HI all...it's birthday eve...per Romanian time, I've got another hour till I'm 41 ... can you even?

I'm in Brasov, and have been here since we left Cluj ... wow, not Monday (what I thought) but yesterday!? Wow, we've done so much in 2 days...I'm confused by the time!!!

From Cluj we drove down and made a few stops. One was in Sighisoara...where Dracula's father used to live. Very cool place...old, cobblestone roads...most leading uphill...there was a church that took 400 years to build...started 13th century (I think?) Lotsa history here.

I also found myself waiting for our group of 11...and outside a church...and heard an organ? It was weird...one of those things you wonder if you're not imagining??? Nope, I wasn't! I bailed my group, and had to go check it out! Since I wasn't going to make it to Brasov for the organ concert...I like to think that it was Rudi who "pulled some strings" to make that that happen! It was nice...I went in, listened...and just thought of our Rudi.

The next stop was to Rupea fortress...the last standing peasant fortress in Romania (Laura's recollection of what she was told...true?). Extremely picturesque, 360 views of beautiful green, rolling hills...a unique place, and in the middle of the Romanian countryside.

We then came down to Brasov...and went to Paiosa Brasov...up into the mountains...to clean air...and cooler temperatures! The last 2 days here in Brasov (and even the last few days in Cluj) were HOT - high 80s...recently in the 90s...and some humidity (not as much as CT/NY). We had a "light" dinner (per the Romanians...to the rest of us? LOTS of food!) at what could be explained as an "alpine resort," yet full of Romanian tradition, i.e., decorations, table settings, etc.

Today we went to Dracula's Castle (also called Bran Castle) located in Bran, outside of Brasov about 15-20 miles. There's lotsa "myths" about Dracula...who he was (Vlad the Impaler?), what he did, where he lived...and the books/movies and what we here as "legend" aren't the "real deal!" The castle, on the other hand, is amazing, beautiful...and definitely one of a kind! And I think it was the castle included in the Dracula movie? I'll have to rent it to find out!

We also went to a "summer palace" of the former Romanian Royalty. I didn't catch the name of the city, but there were two palaces where we went. We saw the larger more ornate one, called Peles. WOW! We had to wear slippers over our shoes to protect the floors and carpets...and this place was like nothing I've ever seen! The only thing I could compare it to is some of the Russian summer palaces I saw when I was in the then "USSR" in 1986. Each room/hallway had unbelievable detail...so much that you can't possibly catch it all, even in a guided tour telling you what's what!

Tonight we had our "final dinner," and it was yummy - - - as ALL meals have been here in Romania! Having "personal guides" has been priceless, knowing what to get, not to get! However, I have to admit that I am looking forward to being on my own for a couple weeks to get back on a more normal eating plan (uhm, whatever that means?) Plain & simple, just eating less! DANG it's been YUMMY and hard to pass up traditional Romanian fare...i.e., hearty soups, chicken dishes, "polenta" (cornmeal staple, sometimes mixed with cheese) ... and the bread? The past couple days its been still warm, fresh out of the oven, with crunchy crust - just the way I love it!

Tonight is our last night in Brasov, and we have to get up at 5am to get Jerry & Cynthia at the airport in time for their flight to Greece (Santorini and Athens). Bucharest is about 2-3 hours away, so we should get there for them by 8:30am or so. Andre, Daniela's cousin who has been such a great help (and tons of fun) will be driving us...and we'll all miss him! After the airport drop off, I will then be delivered to my hotel in Bucharest...for one night...on my birthday...and I have NO idea what I'll be doing! We'll see what my 41st bday holds...!

I fly to Prague on Friday mid-afternoon...and I'll be there for 4 nights...and from there? All I know is that I have to be in London by 8/1 to get home to work (please!) and my sweetie, Greg, who I miss so much...xox

Till soon all!

P.S. 40 mins to my bday...!


Advertisement



18th July 2007

Laura, HAPPY 41st! It's so weird to look at that number and think that's how old we are. Have the best birthday ever!
19th July 2007

happy birthday wishes
happy 41st.and many more...think of all the possibilities ...thanks for the tour and am looking forward to the next installment
19th July 2007

Happy B-Day
Well, what can I say. Welcome to the club of 41. I went on the trip with you reading your Romanian descriptions. I never saw a wedding like you did, but the Brasov Part I have been through a couple of times. Couldn't have said it better. Greetings from Singapore. G
19th July 2007

Happy Birthday!!
Hope you have a lovely night in Bucharest and an even more wonderful 41st year!! Thanks for including us all on your travels --I'm going to miss these daily installments! Love , Kathleen
19th July 2007

THANKS ALL!!!!
Thanks to all of you for the birthday wishes...and great feedback/coments/emails! I haven't responded to you all...but I wanted to write and tell you I have rec'd them and appreciate them all! :o)

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb