We've arrived in Romania!


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Brasov » Brasov
July 13th 2007
Published: July 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

HELLO all - Happy Friday! 😊 GREETINGS FROM ROMANIA!

We've arrived in Romania, and so far...it's been great (I know, big surprise - huh?) I've got apx 10-15 mins, so I'm gonna do a quickie!

It was WILD to fly into Bucharest, only to find Jerry & Cynthia (J & C) outside to greet me...along with "Ovi" (Daniela's, the bride, godfather) and Andres (her cousin)! The guys are our "chauffers" to Brasov-Cluj. I told you before, Daniela wouldn't allow us to make ANY plans whatsoever, so we're at their mercy - a treat, an honor, really...I feel extremely special!

My first impressions of Romania from the plane were 1) the property lots that I saw appeared long and narrow...with a home in the front (or back?) ... and plenty of property for cultivation, maybe? 2) the buildings at the airport were super old, and were definite reminders of the good 'ole communist days...which really weren't that long ago...

I drove to Brasov with Andres, and J & C went with Ovi. Andres said he happened to have some business to do yesterday morning in Bucharest, so he came along, too. Two cars weren't totally necessary, though both will be today from Brasov to Cluj Napoca (referred to as Cluj). Ovi's wife will be coming along, and Andres mom, too. We made one pit stop, and then drove through.

Ok, I was in my GLORY close to the beginning of our trip from the airport, looking out at what appeared to be miles and miles of SUNFLOWERS! Andres & Ovi said that due to drought, they weren't as "perky," and even golden, as they'd typically be - it didn't matter...I was AMAZED at them all! Apparently sunflower oil is primarily used here in Romania - no surprise after witnessing so many fields of them!

We got to Brasov, and went to a great place for dinner. As typical, C & I shared some dishes...including spinach ravioli, grilled chicken, and a nice side salad with tomatoes & mozzarella...all super yummy! J enjoyed a chicken dish as well. And no, we TRIED to pay for the meal...but without success! J & I plotted, and even talked to the waitor...but he'd already been "informed" by Ovi, I guess...'cuz he ended up with the bill. 😞

J & C threatened to fire Daniela because he wasn't able to pay the bill (!), but he decided not to once we got to our incredible, 2BR apt in Brasov, where we stayed the night. We were hooked up with everything you could imagine one would need, i.e., beds, towels, soap, brandy (and we did take advantage of a bit before bed!), fruit & veggies (all the freshest, most organic & flavorful I've had in AGES!), bread, water, fresh-"squeezed" milk (that J totally enjoyed this morning, having grown up with it). No stone was left unturned - - we were taken care of...and these crazy Romanians went ABOVE and BEYOND...

We were greeted at the apartment by Veronica (funny, same name as my Aunt Brigid!), who is Andres mom. It's her apt., and we were told she'll be renting it out (if she hasn't been already). Veronica is Daniela's mom's sister...and as well, Ovi's mom's sister. The apt is located in the heart of central Brasov, where any tourist would want to be located,minutes from the main plaza, and the "Black Church." (more later...)

Ok, I hate to cut this off, but I've gotta run! The only reason I was able to get on was because I stumbled upon this internet cafe, and our departure time for Cluj has been moved up to ... just about now - gotta run!

Happy Friday all - we'll be in touch soon, from Cluj!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0944s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb