Rudi, Cluj-wedding - opposing emotions!


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Cluj » Cluj-Napoca
July 15th 2007
Published: July 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

GOOD SUNDAY MORNING from Cluj, all. It's 11:30am here in Cluj, and I've made it to an internet cafe when it's open, and when I've been available. Its been a couple days...and here goes! This is bound to be a doozie of an entry with so much happening...

Ok, first things first...since it's in the forefront of my mind - - - Rudi. Rudi used to be the primary organist at St. Kilian's, the church I go to in CA, where I sing/cantor. He's been very sick for the past couple months, and I just learned via email that he passed away.

One of the hardest things about traveling is something like this...leaving for several weeks, knowing someone is ill and that death, as difficult as it is to think about/consider, is a possibility. Or worse, finding out over 6 months later (when I went on my 9-month around the world trip) that my dear Uncle Patrick passed away - - - and as far as I knew he wasn't ill...not easy.

So I got the email and immediately started crying...and am again writing this to you all. I feel incredibly awful and sad, coming off an incredible high/time at Daniela's wedding...

Rudi was an incredible man...and an organist extraordinaire. I used to treasure staying after the closing song at mass, when most people were leaving, to listen to his final...I'm not sure what it's called....not a song...an instrumental piece that he played until everyone left the church. I wasn't his only "fan," there were typically several others that would stay behind to listen to him...and we'd always share our appreciation at his incredible talent by clapping at the end.

I've known Rudi for ... gee, I'm not sure...as long as I've been at St. Kilian's. I want to say 4-5 years ago, maybe more? I sang with the choir for a few years...and I felt like Rudi's biggest fan. I'd check in with him now and then before/during/after choir practice, and/or on Sunday before/after mass. There were times the choir (or me solo!) would start chanting "Rudi, Rudi, Rudi...!" - - - which was reminiscent of the movie Rudy...but we all knew it was for our extraordinarily talented organist, Rudi! I think he'd get a kick out of it - - he had a way of smiling that was so dang cute...!

From what little I know, Rudi played the organ/church music since he was 10 years old. I don't know how old he was when he died, I want to say late 60s/early 70s, but I really don't know. He also used to travel around the world, seeing, if not playing, different organs.

Not even an hour ago I was at mass at St. Michael Catholic Church here in Cluj, and though the mass was in Hungarian, I enjoyed it because most of the mass was either sung or chanted...and I always appreciate church music no matter what language it's in. There was a cantor, too, and the organ accompanied him and the congregation. I'm not sure I thought of Rudi specifically this morning, hearing the organ. The last time I recall thinking about him was in Brasov on Thursday.

I briefly mentioned in my last blog the "Black Church." I don't know a ton about it (except for what's in my Lonely Planet guide book - which isn't committed to memory!) What I do know is that it's the largest gothic cathedral in Romania...and it IS enormous! Also, I learned that the church contains an organ with 6,000 pipes. I don't know a lot about organs, but I thought about Rudi then, wondering if this was one of the organs he saw and/or played on.

They have concerts in Brasov on Tues & Thurs at 6pm. I know we're all travelling there again with Daniela/gang...and I'm not sure what day/hour we'll be there. I'd be SO happy if I could make it for the 1/2-hour concert...and if I do, you all know who I'll be thinking of. I sure hope it happens. Rudi's service was yesterday, sadly, and why I say "opposing emotions," since it was on the same day Daniela & Mircea got "officially" married and celebrated their wedding.

Ya know what? I didn't expect to go on and on so much about Rudi...and I did, and it's all a-ok. However, I'm not only suddenly real tired, but I feel so sad (tears are still in there...and here we go...) I'll come back later today or tomorrow and fill you in on the wedding. I will say that it was an event like I never could have imagined.

Lastly - - - and I say this after reviewing this - - - THANKS for listening all. I think this was more therapeutic than anything else. My intent wasn't to get y'all sad. My guess is that I felt the need to share to help me process/get through the shock. I will be fine, I promise...AND, I'll be back to share the wedding/day's details.



Advertisement



16th July 2007

World Traveler!!!
Hey Laura, glad your having a great time, the wedding sounds amazing. Just wanted to say Hi !! Be safe....:-)

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb