Back To Bucharest


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest
November 1st 2017
Published: December 5th 2020
Edit Blog Post

On this the final day of our tour of Romania, we were given a free morning to do as we pleased. After last night's festivities, it looked like everyone was in need of a free morning. The storm that rolled in the last 2 days and brought an early glimpse of winter snow to the town had passed. This morning we were greeted with a cloudless sunny sky, perfect weather for our final day. After breakfast, Shea and I joined Erin and Angie for a walk back into the town to do a little shopping in the markets. There were a good number of other visitors here this morning to do their shopping and enjoy the sunny morning skies. Nothing really caught my eye while I was exploring the markets. I did purchase a few magnets as souvenirs for others back home but for the most part, the shops were selling all your typical tourist stuff with many selling cheesy vampire teeth and other Dracula kitsch. With nothing of interest in the markets for me, I ventured off to do a little exploration. The town was quite small so I didn't get to go very far. I went to check out Bran Castle one last time still amazed that I was fortunate enough to attend a party here on Halloween night. I considered paying the entrance fee to get one last look inside the castle but decided against it. I found Shea when she was done with her shopping. Unable to find Erin and Angie, Shea and I made our way back to Villa Bran to rest a bit before boarding the bus for the return drive to Bucharest.



Prior to returning to Bucharest, we made a quick stop in Snagov to visit the Snagov Monastery known as the final resting place of Vlad Tepes. On this trip, we visited the birthplace of Vlad Tepes, some important sights during his reign, and now we had come full circle at his supposed burial site. The monastery allegedly containing his remains is located on an island in Snagov Lake and is connected to the mainland by a pedestrian walking bridge. After walking across the bridge, we explored the grounds of the monastery while Gabo provided us with some history of the site. However, I was much more interested in watching the resident dogs as well as having a look at
Snagov LakeSnagov LakeSnagov Lake

Crossing on the bridge to Snagov Monastery
the lake. The monastery is a small stone church with Vlad Tepes' remains allegedly at the back of the church. When we were finally allowed inside, I was pleased to see a beautifully decorated church in Eastern Orthodox religious style. I wandered around taking photos and was informed that I had to pay in order to take photographs. A little annoyed that I was not told this, I handed over 10 Lei to the attendant but I probably would have paid it even if I had been pre-informed. As the church was quite small, I was finished exploring in no more than 5 minutes. As I was sitting outside waiting for everyone else, I realized that I didn't even see the resting place of Vlad Tepes inside the church. But I was so comfortable relaxing that I didn't even bother going back inside to do so.



Back on the bus, it was a relatively short drive to our hotel for the night, the Hotel Ibis Bucharest City Center near the Palace of Parliament. After settling in and freshening up, our entire group walked over for one final dinner together. It was a quiet yet bittersweet final dinner with everyone as we recapped what we had seen over this past week. After dinner, we all walked back together as a group to the hotel. We said our final goodbyes to everyone as everyone was leaving at various times the next day. Shea and I hung out with Erin, Angie, and the British couple in the hotel lobby for a bit where we all had some final beers. I think this was the first time we had actually chatted with the British couple during the whole duration of the trip. Game 7 of the World Series between the LA Dodgers and Houston Astros was taking place back home and Erin, who is originally from Houston, made a bet with me for beers the next time our paths would cross. I didn't know it at the time but this would not be the last time that Shea and I would see Erin and Angie. Shea and I had an early flight so we eventually retired back to our rooms. It was already 2am and we had to meet Rob and Suzy in the hotel lobby at 5am to share a taxi together to the airport. I was too nervous that we would not wake up so I just let Shea sleep for a bit and I stayed awake all night. At the airport, we said our final goodbyes to Rob and Suzy as they were flying home to Portland via Amsterdam. Shea and I again had separate flights going home. She would be flying via London on British Airways and I would be flying home via Paris on Air France. I eventually learned that the LA Dodgers lost game 7 of the World Series so I owe Erin a few beers if I ever were to see her again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb