Bucharest


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest » Gara de Nord
July 29th 2011
Published: July 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I am heading north from Brasov, but I had to go south to Bucharest because that is how the trains run. I am only here for one day, but I'll probably come back again. This isn't the most beautiful city, with endless rows of concrete apartment blocks leftover from Ceaucescu's idea of urban planning. But there are many vibrant cafes, restaurants and shops to visit. The metro is modern, efficient, clean and spacious. The city is appealing despite the sprawling concrete.

I am staying at Hello Hotel, which I really like for its clean interior design, wired internet, aircon and other modern conveniences, but the sign on the exterior doesn't have the last letter lit, which gives the wrong impression of the hotel.

Something interesting--so many times I've walked into a restaurant or pub in Romania and they are playing Kamakawiwaole. I've seen the video of "Over the Rainbow" here in Romania for the first time. Today I was browsing in a bookstore and they were selling a CD to learn Hawaiian.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

modern subwaymodern subway
modern subway

but has some glitches


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb