Shortest Visit Ever


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Madeira » Funchal
December 18th 2004
Published: June 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

View of MadeiraView of MadeiraView of Madeira

M/S Carousel, Atlantic Ocean
Hello my fellow travelers!

This is the fourth of six posts I'll do about a trip to the Canary Islands, Morocco and Madeira in 2004 together with my parents and my uncle Anders. The last post covered the time I was down with the winter flu while this one covers my shortest ever visit to a place.

As we docked in Funchal, after spending a full day at sea, I was still pretty much out of commission. The worst had passed but I was on a very definite fluid diet ordered back to the cabin. The rest of my family wanted to go ashore and I said no worries, just go and enjoy, I'll be here drinking Pepsi, eating soup and reading a book. Trying to regain some strength. My mother was concerned of course, as mothers should be but she went along with my father and Anders.

They spent a few hours walking around in Funchal before returning to the ship, I decided I didn't want to miss Madeira all together so I managed to drag my weak diseased body ashore, standing on the shore for a couple of minutes, breathing some fresh air before dragging myself
Funchal HarbourFunchal HarbourFunchal Harbour

M/S Carousel, Atlantic Ocean
back to my bunk. Woo, visited Madeira again. For the shortest visit ever, even a flight transit is longer than this.

Well, it would have to suffice for this time though for the M/S Carousel was set to sail again, this time towards La Palma.

The next post will cover the time spent in La Palma and until then I wish you all peace and happy travels!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Beautiful BushBeautiful Bush
Beautiful Bush

Funchal, Madeira


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb