Back!


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Central » Leiria
September 22nd 2008
Published: September 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So soon, right? Haha, I am writing this entry at 9am because I don't start school today until 10:40am :D ... woo hoo! Anyway, I wanted to write about my weekend... Friday, I went to my first (well, technically 2nd) portuguese party! It was my first classmate party ... one of my guyfriends from school turned 18, and he had a party at my family's restaurant/café, "O Caseiro". There was a lot of drinking (I had no part in this, as well as a couple other guys ... we just watched the others be obnoxious!), eating, and laughing... He recieved a couple of gifts, and then they shoved his face into his lovely cake! (Which isn't much like american b-day cakes... I'll have to take a picture of a b-day cake, it's hard to explain haha). That's when they started getting crazy! I told my sister and brother the next day, but they told me that this is a normal b-day party haha! I was surprised, but I suppose that's how it goes here in Portugal XD. After all that craziness, we walked around near the café (my parents didn't want me leaving the near premises... :/) and we went to another local café and played pool. And of course, it was really late when I fell asleep, thank god for weekends! Saturday was not very eventful. My sister and I just hung out at the café, and spent most of the rest of the day together. Sunday was very nice. The family went to my mom's side of the family's home (who I have never met until Sunday!) to celebrate my mom's father's 80th b-day! My 3rd party ... how exciting :D. That day, I wasn't feeling so great.. a little down I suppose, but what was served for the afternoon party was salad, various meats, batatas fritas (chips), aroz(rice), potatoes, tomatoes, fruits, and various deserts... NOT including the cake! Haha... they eat SO much here, I always get stomach aches... I had to be a veggie that day.... anyway, after eating, they gave our grandfather his many random birthday gifts, and laughed and enjoyed seeing a previous b-day on home video. All of the grandchildren, were there including all of the children of the grandparents were there as well (except 1, she had passed away years ago 😞 ). It was a true family party, and it was nice to see the closeness of them together 😊. After socialzing some more, we went to Portalegre (I spelled it wrong in the other message, sorry!) to drop off Acácio and his good friend Samuel for college... Samuel's family (mom & sister) came along with us in our already crammed van, and drove about TWO hours to Portalegre... not 20 mins hahah! The town (at night, I have yet to see it at day) was very small, old, and I really like it! Their rooms were so tiny! But 8 people live on a floor, share showers, toliets, and a kitchen, which isn't bad. They eventually want to move into a bigger place, but for now, its nice. We then went out for really good pizza, and headed home, which by then it was 2 am when we got home...
MAN what a crazy weekend, I didn't expect to be writing THAT much about this weekend! But I'm glad I did.. I don't want to forget anything about my experiences here 😊

Okay, gotta go... school is starting soon!
Beijos,
Claire

Advertisement



27th September 2008

CLAIR BEAR!!!!
WOW! i'm kinda jealous, you seem to be haveing such a great time over there! what are your classes like. are they all in spanish (or portigesse however you spell that lol) what are you takeing? have you made any friends? see any man candy worth going after? lol tell me EVERY THING i miss you guys sooo much!
28th September 2008

bridget babayyy!
haha its portuguese, and i am taking portguese literature, psychology, probabilities, phys. ed., and area of project. its hard, but im getting better everyday :). all of my classmates are so friendly, they are very much my friends..a little on the crazy side, haha :). hahah! there are some, but i would stealing from the cradle! plus, i am only here for a year, i don't want to start anything yah know? i miss you soo much too! and i wish i could tel you everything thats happening, but i have sooo much going on its overwhelming! some new events that are coming up are that i am going to a futebol game in Lisbon *Portugal's capital*, and then i start soccer practice wednesday! i am very excited :) love you!
1st October 2008

Hi Claire!
Hi Claire! I saw your mom today at school. She came by to take pictures of the school for you. It sounds like you are adjusting to portugal. I went away to college (Florida) and I was homesick for about 1 month or so. I learned so much though and I wouldn't trade it for anything. You learn how to figure things out, work with others, etc. It is truely a learning experience. I am envious of your experiences and I know you will get the most out of it. How is the natural world there? Any cool woods/streams/ponds around? I linked up your blog to my e-mail so I will always be reading your blogs. Hug a tree for me! LoveYa-Mrs. Draves
6th October 2008

Hug a palm tree :D :D
That is the next thing to do on my list! I will hopefully get a chance this week to take in honor of you :D! I apreciate all of your kind words, and I truely take them to heart :). Man, you should see how into recycling they are here, you would be SO happy! Portugal was one of the first countries in Europe to establish the recycling system.. it's VERY cool :). I will have to take some photos of that for you as well! I hope the kids are good to you this year, better than most of the people in mine last year ;). Love yah too! Beijinhos (little kisses!) Claire

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb