Terrors of Mr. Bean & Beer on Tap at MacDonald's


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Central » Aveiro
April 8th 2007
Published: April 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I told you about the Mr. Bean movie, very funny but also terrifying. Scenes of trains pulling away with people inside, partners outside, money, luggage, and passport either on or off the train without the owner struck too close to home. The humor turns sour when you're traveling on trains as I am. There are also lots of pitfalls here, lots of places you can fall from that don't have barriers. Not to worry, I'm being very careful. Today I watched a girl on a bike (like the one I was on--lousy brakes and terrible steering) go hurtling for the canal. However, she stopped, handed her camera to a friend, trotted down the ramp to pose beside a gondola type boat, and slide on the mossy cement at the end of ramp, and plunge into the canal without the bike. She grabbed the boat and kept herself from going under. Her boyfriend rushed to her aid, thinking she had tripped, and slid into the canal too. They both managed to haul themselves out and were non the worse for wear. They had another friend with them who saw it, along with me, but otherwise, it went unnoticed by the tourists on the other side of the canal. Needless to say, I'm being even more careful now.
I've beencraving salad and didn't want to go sit in a restaurant, so I went to MacDonald's and got a Salada Caesar which was very good ($5). Another lady came up and, without any ID check, ordered hamburgers and a beer, Super Bock, which was on tap. In Guimaraes, I got a glass of white wine, called Vinho Verde, on tap--made me think of Art's boxed chillable red that he keeps on tap.
Off to Coimbra tomorrow. It's a university town, so I'm expecting better internet service that here, where I have to sit in a smoky game room, which is why my entries have been short.
Ate amanha! (til tomorrow)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb