Chasing summer in Lagos


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Lagos
October 19th 2006
Published: December 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In a last ditch effort to get some sun without going to another continent further south I had caught a bus to Lagos in to stay at the Rising Cock hostel. It turned out to be almost exclusively filled with australians, even had a flag on the wall, it was run by a Portugese lady who we all called "Momma" and her two sons.

Had a great sleep and consequently woke up really early and learned that this hostel does not do early starts, but breakfast is included so i was happy to wait. I went for a walk around the city and took a few pictures, its not a big place so i had covered it within 2hrs, but when i got back to the hostel I was still first to breakfast! Scrambled eggs on toast worth the wait 😊 I milled around with a few of the other peeps, had coffee, there's not much to do in Lagos, its a beach town, so this is what you do. Justin, Tuuli and I cruised down to the beach for a swim and wandered around town now that it had woken up, its quite obvious this place lives and breathes tourism, most of all the restaurants were international cuisine and expensive.

On a recommendation from one of the guys that runs the hostel we went to this very cool place 'Croissanteria 29' for lunch where the croissants were cheap, fresh and you could have them filled with anything. After lunch we went back to another smaller beach for a beer and chat and once the sun ran away I went back to the hostel to watch 'Chopper' (great movie). The hostel had a sweet setup, a big plasma screen and a PC with a huge selection of movies, it was good and bad because someone always wanted to watch a movie thus taking over the whole common room. That night Momma cooked a huge batch of vegetable soup free for everyone which was delicious and went down well. Tuuli and I got red wine and cola to make cheap Sangrea and watched 'Boon Dock Saints' also quite good. Later in the evening a couple of tag-alongs from another hostel turned up and this is where I met Randi and everyone went out for drinks and dancing in the rain.

Next morning after a nice sleep in I had the upgrade breakfast which included bacon and pancakes, we went for coffee again and due to bad weather chilled out at the hostel watching movies again. I went on another Croissanteria mission and had an afternoon nap before heading to the bus stop with Randi and a bottle of wine to meet who else but Canadian Rob and Shaun who were following me everywhere it seemed. Sure enough they showed up and since I was leaving the next day we just had to have one last big night together. The usual drunken bar shenanigans ensued before I crashed out.

Up for another breakfast with the crew before once again packing up my stuff, saying goodbyes and moving on, catching a bus with Randi and Canadian Matt to Lisbon. I had more of a time limit on this leg since I set my return flight when I was in Athens and I was thinking I should have allowed myself more time. It felt like I had just arrived and was leaving already, but at the same time there really wasnt much to see and I knew I was really just killing time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



31st October 2007

Lagos
Ahhhh.. good times good times.. about time for another stint OS for me I think.

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb