The beauty of Lagos


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Lagos
October 15th 2018
Published: November 8th 2018
Edit Blog Post

After walking the hills in Porto, I was really looking forward to having some beach time down in the Algarve. I got on the 5:40am train to Lagos (pronounced la-goosh) There isn’t a direct train down there so I had to take the train heading towards Faro and switched to a Regional train in Tunes. The journey in total took 5 hours, so I got in early afternoon. My new apartments host had her husband meet me at the train station to take me to my new digs, which was amazing. My new place was set inside the old city of Lagos. The old city has a wall build around it, which I could see from my apartment. I quickly got settled in and headed outside to check out my new surroundings. The sun was hot and bouncing off the cobble stone streets. I decided to walk up towards a beach that was recommended Pinhão. I hit a traffic circle and found a discreet rugged pathway that led to the beach. The path led to a stone wall the looked out high over the ocean. Looking down, there is a steep stair way that led to the beach down below. Terra cotta coloured sand was being washed away by the high tide. Beach goers had the belongings gathered as the were making their way up the stairs. The lookout was incredible. A tiny cove hugged by ochre tinted cliffs and turquoise water lapping up the beach. If these were to be the sights of Lagos I was going to be perfectly content. I decided to continue my walk towards the water front and walk down the stretch of promenade that seperated city from ocean. I came across Batata beach. Another cove with smaller rocks but wider golden sand. The beach was full of city goers and tourists catching rays. The beach looked very convenient for people staying in the town centre. I continued my walk down the promenade, checking out the Lagos marina. The whole walk didn’t take that long as the town is easy to cross. I was excited to just spend my days here relaxing and beaching.

My first beach st


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb