Poland, the end


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland
February 8th 2009
Published: February 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Massive apologies for lack of punctuation and any other typos that may follow...

6 February

Got up early this morning again but was surprised to find several new arrivals in the kitchen. They had seemingly arrived to drop off their bags at the hostel and had been suckered in by the free breakfast. Got chatting to an Aussie guy who was supposed to have arrived three days earlier and had lost track of time in Budapest, so easy to do.

After a leisurely breakfast and checking out I braved the very thick fog to go for a walk. Headed down to the Jewish Quarter and past the many synagoues. It was so foggy though it was hard to take much of it in. After that I walked to Wawel and visited the cathedral, the state private appartments and the royal armoury. Managed to use my student ID again which has saved me a fair bit on this trip. Nice.

The armoury had a lot of various swords and guns, all very ornate, as well as vests and kevlar=type outfits worn by knights. The royal appartments were very nice but most of it had been recreated which was quite disappointing really.

By the time I finshed that the fog had mostly cleared so I was able to enjoy the stroll back through the old town to the hostel to collect my things. Grabbed some lunch on the way through.

By the time I moved to my new hostel in the old town I had enough time for washing and a nap before dinner and a stroll around the old town at night to get some photos, once again in the fog.

7 February

Last day in Krakow having stuffed up my bus tickets to start with. Got up relatively late and had a leisurely breakfast in the kitchen basically on my own as despite the fact that it was nine everyone still seemed to be asleep.

It was an absolutely stunning day, sun was shining, all the snow completely melted and not much slush around anymore either.

First stop was the Pharmacy Museum basically next door to my hostel. It has one of the largest collection of histiorical items in Eastern Europe, something like 22000 pieces. While a lot of it was equipment it also had things that they used to think had therapeutic properties and used in medicines, like human fat, various animal parts, minerals and flora. The museum was spread over about four floors and was actually quite interesting. I didnt really feel like doing another normal museum, hence the slightly odd choice. Spent about an hour wandering through reading the english language cards. Quite a lovely old building too.

After that I basically just strolled through the old town for the remainder of the day. Went into St Marys and admired the super=high ceilings and tons of gold plating everywhere, ate a bread roll from a vendor in market square, even sat in the sunshine and read some mroe of a book.

When it started to cool down and get dark I grabbed some dinner, repacked my bag and headed to bed. Very chilledout day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1092s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb