Zakopane--land of Beauty


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland
September 26th 2005
Published: September 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

First mountain climbFirst mountain climbFirst mountain climb

This was straight up...and even though i was dying on saw this lady coming down with a kid strapped to her back!
Yesterday I caught the bus down to Zakopane, Poland. It's kinda like Tahoe...total ski town with hiking in the summer. So beautiful. And not to mention land of cows on a leash. What the? Yeah I didn't know either. I did see a few sheep on a leash too. So after I got there, I went to the tourist information place to get info on where to hike. So with my trusty pedometer on my wrist I did a couple quick hikes. Much to my surprise, I clocked over 12 miles! And that included one mountain pass. Going on these hikes really made me realize how much I love this kind of thing. And how much I want to go to Colorado. Walking on these isolated trails, I reflected on so many things. Mostly about how much I miss my little bro and how much fun we'll have when I see him at Christmas. I also thought about how lucky I am to have such wonderful friends who are so supportive. OK so it was a little sappy of a hike for me, but whatever. The last half of the hike it actually started raining. Which made everything even more pensive
Mountain hutsMountain hutsMountain huts

I wanted to stay here, but they were booked. Oh and they have no insulation, beds, or water. other than that....
for me. Especially since I was wearing the plastic garbage bag poncho that I received as a gift before I left. Quite nice.

One thing I don't understand is how hard core these Europeans are. They hike for miles and miles, in jeans, and never seem to break a sweat. ANDDDD once they get to the summit to reward their efforts, what better way than to light up a cigarette. I have a hard enough time being a non-smoker...but then again, remember I basically am a smoker these days by default.

I guess for the weaker people, they had a horse drawn carriage to tote you up to the top. But I think that is taking your life in your own hands by getting in that thing. I am not joking, but that horse was TROTTING (actually i dont' know the terminology...have to refer my horse expert brother) up that hill. The carriage was bouncing all over the place. I swear they were going 30mph. SOO Crazy. Also, people bring their strollers up these paths too. People, there are BOULDERS you must go over. How is that possibly a peaceful ride for a child? I wouldnt' be surprised
More beautyMore beautyMore beauty

This was at about mile 12...still had energy to capture beauty
if they had brain damage!

So if I thought that no one spoke english in Krakow, Zakopane is a million times worse! In fact, several times people asked if I spoke German, and since I know more German than Polish, I had to at least try! Ya that was successful. So I went to dinner by myself and I swear, as usual, the English speakers somehow find me. A nice British couple sat next to me and were super sweet. I even got them to take a picture of me having dinner in a sleigh. It is so weird for me not to hear my own voice all day. Maybe its just because I talk a lot. I dont' talk that much do i?

Well so today I woke up bright and early to get in some more hiking before going back to Krakow. Except...I woke up with fever. At first I wasn't sure, but once I started hiking, it was pretty clear. I went up to this mountain range where you can put one foot in Slovakia and one in Poland. Pretty neato. Due to my deteriorating health and the super cold wind, I cut my hiking
Up on the borderUp on the borderUp on the border

No one seemed to making a run for this border
short to 5 miles and just headed back to Krakow. Unfortunetly, my pictures don't do the place justice. It was a little cloudy up at the peak, so they didn't come out as great as I'd hoped. oh well. let me know what you think.

Tonight I go to Prague on the night, which is supposed to be one of the most dangerous ones for people getting robbed. Just great. I will have to hide my valuables extra well this time.

Sorry if this seems boring today...I think I have come down with a fever. Need rest!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.353s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb