Adventures in Eating


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
September 27th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Cajun in Czech?Cajun in Czech?Cajun in Czech?

How is this possible?
I just have time for a quick entry, but I wanted to send a quick update that I survived yet another night train with no problems...phew. Now i am in beautiful Prague.

So for your entertainment, here are some stories about food. As many of you know, I am not exactly the most open-minded eater. I used to say nothing east of Italy...but now I have realized that really I should reconsider. ..to make the area smaller.

In Germany, I actually tried not a weiner schnitzal, but a schweiner schnitzal...consisting of swine of course. I felt quite proud. Then aside from my occasional stops at Burger King and the beloved kebab stops in Poland, I have branched out other times...whether I chose to or not. The first time happened in Germany. I was dying of thirst so I went in to a convenience store and bought a water. Took a gigantic swig, and well, I think you know where this is going. I thought I had been very careful about getting water "without gas" but I guess not careful enough. I about choked, but at least learned my lesson. Mineral water is not my fave, especially not by the
what a great view...what a great view...what a great view...

of the bridges
chug ful.

Then in Poland, I went to a restaurant and basically just looked for words that looked remotely familiar. I originally ordered turkey, but apparently they were out, so I order a chicken thing. That's all I know ...that it was chicken. So my meal arrives with 2 little fried sausage looking things. Hmm. So I cut into it and out squirts (in every direction) some butter/creamy/garlicky-ish type sauce. Not sure if it was actually chicken, but I was so hungry, I just did it. I was proud.

The next morning I was not so proud. Before my big hike, I decided I needed to eat something. So they have these bread carts all over the place selling different pastries and rolls. So i found one and the bread were all different shaped, and different textures. So I just blindly picked one. It was really expensive for bread ...like $2.50. Usually it should be like 30 cents. But it was really heavy so I was really curious what was inside...maybe a sausage, maybe some chocolate...who knows? Only one way to find out. I took a big chomp. Much to my horror, I discovered that it was a roll of sheep cheese. NO bread involved. I am not a big fan of cheese as it is, so basically I was wondering the streets brushing my tongue off to make the awful taste go away. Could I cry more. I felt bad to waste it, but one chomp and it was in the garbage. Sorry...tourist town= no homeless to give it to.

Ok well, I am in Prague now, no fun stories yet, but it's only 5, so tune in tomorrow. And no picture downloads till the next town so just be patient. Oh wait, I lied, I have one fun story. Today I actually ate at a "cajun/creole" cafe. Very interesting.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb