mtbo Poland


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Warmian-Masurian » Olsztyn
August 25th 2008
Published: August 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 7..race day minus one
Today was all about getting from Olsztyn to Stare Jablonki by train and getting settled in and have practise on the model course.
Train was at 1045 so I got up early ate and packed and checked out at 9 intending to go for coffee first. Enthusiastic security guard rushed off an got my bike so rather than say no I went to train station instead, bought ticket to SJ and sat on platform and read and trainspotted in the traditional sense. One long car train came through..hundreds of little Polishmobiles on it.
Met 2 Poles on train who hadn’t met a kiwi so we chatted away..they took my photo. They were going 2 stops to meet friends and bike in forest..and probably pick mushrooms.
Got to SJ about 1118 and carried luggage etc for 500m to Hotel Anders. Nice area..in forest and with lake. Hotel is a spa resort so its about 4-5 stars I guess. Checkin with organisers began..I met up with others who were checking in..as a team Guy in charge was very unorganised with forms etc but we got there in the end. I had arranged to balance fee ($600NZD) by credit card but they had no cc facilities. I gather he says yes to everything in emails!
Got to room..very nice. Accommodation muckups abounded but I had got organised by entry form and paying deposit so I was sweet.
Had great lunch..buffet style so stocked up on carbs.
Then had to cycle 12kms to Ostroda to get money from autoaccess machine!! Nice town on edge of big lake with bars along lake edge. Will go back on free halfday as it is near Elbblag canal. Met one of the Aussies with transit van so we had coffee and he offered me ride back..got lost for 30mins though but it saved energy!
Did practise session which was not good. Got lost looking for second control so will go back 2moro am and redo it and see where I went wrong. Other 5 controls were fine..found them where I was supposed to,
Went for quick swim in heated pool and had finish sauna. Dinner was sumptuous..will have to make sure I work these all off.
Went to bed about 1015. Curtains here are hopeless so 5am is first light and I wake about 6.

More 2moro eh....


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb