Culture?!?


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw
October 14th 2007
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes, yes, I did get a little culture today. I visited the Palace of Culture and Science. The place is amazingly large, built from over 40 million bricks it has 3,288 rooms. The palace depicts Poland’s history. Following the Palace of Culture and History, I went to the Fryderyk Chopin Museum. Well actually I went to the Chopin National Music Academy. It wasn’t until I walked in did I realized I had walked into the wrong building. I noticed I was the only person wearing jeans, a sweatshirt and a ball cap. Awkward! Everyone was in black tie. I did manage to find the museum. Here in Poland Chopin is a national hero. He was born by French/Polish parents in Poland. I managed to catch a Chopin recital by students that perform at the museum … from where…but of course, the Chopin National Music Academy. Of course!

I then went to prison. Yes, prison. I told someone at the hotel today I was going to prison and they looked at me very worrisome. Pawiak Prison, that is; built in the 1830s to serve as a Tsarist Prison, it later became a prison run by the Nazi’s. Over 100,000 political and Jewish inmates were housed here of which 37,000 were executed on the grounds. The outside grounds features a managed tree festooned with obituary notices dating from 1944. See pictures.

I then made my way back to Old Town to get my nephew a gift. At night I was told vendors come out to sell all types of goods. It is very true and a neat site to see in Old Town. Old Town seems to be more alive with locals in the evening.

One more thing I learned today. I was told by the hotel staff that when President Bush came to Poland he stayed at this same hotel . . . yea, I didn’t care either.

For the most part this concludes my trip to Poland. I very much enjoyed my visit to this post-communist influenced country. I don’t leave until tomorrow late-afternoon. For those of you following my blog, I more than likely will not be blogging tomorrow. I have an all-night flight with a long lay-over. Not sure on time change or even what day it is right now, but next stop on this trip is Istanbul. Hope all are well! Mike.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb