A city of only 50 years!


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw
June 8th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The "Old" townThe "Old" townThe "Old" town

completely reconstructed after WWII...so its the new 'old' town of Warszawa...Small but nice!
Warsaw played a big part in WWII and the Hitler wanted Warsaw off the world map forever when they retreated, so, it was like..99% destroyed. They rebuilt everything afterwards, including the old town and of couorse, all the modern buildings...

So, I think I went on a catholic holiday in Poland....most museums were closed...the royal road was FULL of people....there is like a church every block and they had lots of outdoor masses going on!!!!! Many police and army people were lined up..just like one of those government ceremonies.....very ying. Before I knew what was going on...I thought there would be a parade....waited a while and when the masses started....left. coz it was too damn hot.! haa

Anyways, Since everything was closed and the churches were all packed...I didnt get to go inside anything. Tho, I was mostly interested in the Art Gallery, which was opened, and free for the day!! haaaa...Many contempoary art stuff...COOOL..!!
I did walked around the old town....only one door was original..everything else was rebuilt...
But, it was beautiful...a nice place in the centre of the capital. outside this area is just another modern city....So I strolled around...finished the sightseeing things...took greta pix coz
Some Religious CelebrationSome Religious CelebrationSome Religious Celebration

People told me the name of this Saint day like....about 5 times...I still can't remember it....><"
the weather was beautiful...sky was relly blue!!! =)

Headed to the supermarket and on the way...walked into this C&A shop..kinda like the Uniqlo in japan....and got a pair of trousers!!! (no way I am saying pants anymore coz in British English, pants mean underwear!!! it was a big laugh during the CELTA...)It wasn't too cheap..but not that mad.....35zl.....less than 100HKD?

So went back to the hostel....met this American guy.....he is a writer....cool...We chatted and he had to sent his friend off a train to Kyiv, Ukraine...then he came back and later we went out for a beer. halfway, his friend came back!! happened that he got tix for tmr instead! haaa....but his description of the train and the Ukrainians.....kinda made me say "I MUST get first class when I travel in the Ukraine..." and I think I will....
Anyways, finished the beer and had to go back to the hostel coz there is a midnight curfew..
The beer was strong? I was so sleepy once I got back! haa....good sleep.=)

So this morning, wanted to actualyl go into the royal palace and the history museum..but walked out...and OMG....the sun was melting me.....
Then saw pix of the royal palace...read a bit about it...not so interesting...not worth.
The historial museum ne......OK la...but seems small...and I bet not much in English...the only English film was at 12 and i think its too late coz I wanted to catch the train to Krakow...
So ended up just leaving straight to the train station hoping to catch the cheaper express train at 1105.....BUT..!
damnit! no 1105 train today!!!!!! WTH??????
made me take the 1205 IC train..which was like....$$$$...
both require reservation I think...but the IC....this extra charge was 60% more of the ticket itself! plus, had to wait another hour....godo they have free wireless at the train station!!!=P
The train ride was a lot more comfi....with air-con....haaa thats good.

Got to Krakow..beautiful city!!!!!!!!! In love with it the first sight!
In the hostel now...nice one!! Very few guest...great facilities except broken laundry machine!! ><" and I was saving my laundry for this....ahhhh....now have to handwash....=(

So broke....got 100zl left........and its my last stop...ahh..but definitely not enough I think...
I did get my next train ticket already....i got the <26 discount!! yayaaa!! but still expensive...tho Its a couchette night train......haaa..ok la.^^

Off to make dinner and do laundry!!
Tmr visiting the Auschwitz Concentration Camp...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

SurvivalSurvival
Survival

This is the door that survived the bombing during the war...ging!
PierogiPierogi
Pierogi

Polish dumpings...err... I prefer Chinese ones still..haaa!!
Street ArtistStreet Artist
Street Artist

The moment I was wondering...if this was a real person? The nhe started shaking and ringing bells...like thos 'asking rice old lady' (mun mai po!) haaa....very funny..
Artistic?Artistic?
Artistic?

Some Art statue outside the Art gallery..


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb