A little diversion from Warsaw


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
September 8th 2016
Published: April 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I have always wanted to visit Krakow, so I went to Poland a day early so I could do about 24 hours in Krakow. Not enough time at all, I know. However, I did see a lot of the old town and enjoyed it. I would like to go back someday.

We arrived into Frankfurt on time at 10am, and cleared immigration quickly. Next flight to Krakow was around noon time, but it seemed full for stand by. The next flight was not until around 4 pm, but it had lots of open seats. What to do? Shall we go into Frankfurt city for a few hours? Try the early flight?

We decided to try the earlier flight, and it was a good choice because we made it on. It was a smooth and routine flight to Krakow, and I slept the entire journey.

This was Lufthansa flight 1366, and Airbus 319. I was in economy seat 9B. Once in Krakow, we split up, but not by choice necessarily. My travelbuddy had some money exchange issues, so I headed to the city on my own. He eventually made it there a few hours later.

The train from Krakow airport to the central station is very nice and convenient. It took about 15 minutes and was a cost of 8PLN.

Once there, I went to my Airbnb, which was almost across the street from the rail station. I met my host Alina, then dropped my bag and headed out. I needed to see what I could in the 5 hours of daylight that were left. It was very easy to walk around the Krakow Old Town, and I found it to be very nice. I also walked down to see the Wawel Castle. At dinner time, I ate some doner kebab. I love the stuff, and it is on every corner in Europe! After dark, I continued to walk around old town, just stopping once for a gelato of dark chocolate with orange. I went back to my Airbnb room at about 10pm. I net surfed a short while, and then fell asleep easily for a full 8 hours.

Also, I visited the Hard Rock Cafe in Krakow, which is my 118th different cafe visited.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0146s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb