An Arctic Circle of Friends


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway
July 30th 2019
Published: July 31st 2019
Edit Blog Post

July 30, 2019

OK. You know when you’re asleep having a dream and you are aware you are dreaming…I believe they are called “lucid dreams” well….anyway. I was in dreamland, and for some reason we were in the house I grew up in (always the same place isn’t it?)…so I’m dreaming and “thinking” EARTHQUAKE. NO, really, EARTHQUAKE. Have I mentioned we are at sea? Have I mentioned the seas were calm, Did I mention I should have kept my big trap shut??

SO, for some reason, the ship made a move, nothing serious and I’m laying in bed, asleep, and EARTHQUAKE – which wakes me up. Poor Christopher…his deadpan reply….go back to sleep we’re on a ship. No earthquake. Meanwhile, my heart is in my throat ready to jump out my mouth to save itself. I realized we are on a ship and then sort o felt like a fool, but then got over it and went back to sleep. What a night!

The ship did some minor (and I DO mean minor) rocking – nothing serious and all because of that pesky low pressure front…smart ass pressure front. We managed to get back to sleep and eventually wake up around 9:30 or so. Guess breakfast shall be pastry and an espresso in Baristas…could be worse.

Let’s get this day going. NO CLUE what we’re going to do. I predict a walk around Bodo, and then return to the ship. I shall keep you informed. Right now, someone is FINALLY out of the shower and I have to take an allergy pill. Feeling much better today – I think a good nites sleep did some good on these weary old bones and muscles. Not 100%, but I can bend down now. Progress.

So…SURPRISE…all this time we thought no breakfast was to be had after 10am. We learned this morning that we can still get breakfast in Waves. Always the last to know! Still got our double espresso in Baristas.

So, Bodo. Cool city! Very, VERY Modern architecture. Their new Stadtshuset (City Hall) is GORGEOUS. There are new housing developments in the “downtown” core which are beautiful to look at and I’m sure equally as functional and practical for the residents. Don’t know how many people live hereabouts…but there is a LOT of construction in this town!

SO…back in Oslo, I didn’t buy a bathing suit because I had to go up a size, it was made in China and well…I was being stubborn. Regretted it ever since. WELL….today – problem solved! Better looking bathing suit, made in Norway – and a Norwegian brand, AND…40% off. I had chosen to purchase before I knew of the price break – so another wonderful surprise for the day.

We walked for hours. Around the downtown core, along the breakwater. Question? Why are there park benches OUTSIDE (on the seaside) of the sea wall? We never saw how anyone was supposed to get to them…unless they risked life and limb to get there. Perhaps an art installation? But then…WHY? You KNOW some fool is going to try to sit on one of the benches and fall to their death. Not high, but VERY narrow, rocky and the water is VERY COLD!

The day was sunny, but a constant wind convinced me to put the down vest on. Hey, Lambert Bridge….Free advertising in Bodo, Norway…you’re welcome! Hehe. The sun is broken this far north. The heat is MUCH more intense in the direct sun; 75 feels like 85. Have to look to science to figure this one out. Takes too long on this wimpy wifi, so it shall wait until we return home….or get better wifi in London. And…it’s 10:55pm right now – and the sun is bright and shining. Like I said BROKEN!

We learned we are inside the Arctic Circle! YES! Yet another bucket list item checked off! Cool. We thought we wouldn’t hit the “circle” until tomorrow in Harstad..so another SURPRISE!

We don’t really know where the day went. We were off the ship until about 2pm. Grabbed a bite of lunch at Waves (split a Cuban Sandwich and ordered extra fries…because. Why not? Christopher had his first “Arnold palmer” his only comment- too sweet. I stuck to water.

Too windy for the pool deck. Move on to the Spa Deck. Better, not great. The wind picked up so…forget it. I went into the steam room to get warm. Just as I was walking out of the spa, I met up with Christopher who was deciding his next move. The Fitness Center! I’m still a bit tender, so another day of rest, then back to the fitness center. So, while Christopher worked out, I read. This book is so well written (Underground Railroad).

By the time we got back together and were all cleaned up, it was dinner time. Tonight POLO, and we’re bringing a bottle of Joseph Phelps Insignia, a 2009. Our Sommelier was a little shocked to see the bottle. He had that “oh HELL NO” look on his face. He asked if we purchased this on the ship – NO. Oh, I didn’t think so, because we don’t have this vintage…that I’m aware of. UH…NO…you probably don’t and if you did, we couldn’t afford it! Christopher told him we “travel with a few things from our cellar” – like this is the ONLY way we travel….well, maybe from now on! That new wine suitcase makes it VERY easy! The Somm was VERY Quick to respond with a “well, you KNOW you’ll have to pay a corkage fee” – Oh, we know. But at least we won’t pay $500 (probably more) for a bottle we got for one heck of a lot less! We’re good with the corkage fee!!

Dinner started with pork belly in an orange sauce for both of us; Rack of lamb for Christopher and Rib Eye for me – we each had a baked potato and split a side of green beans. No sauces. No toppings and NO dessert! Well…those amazing fruit gels current and apricot were enough for us.

Dinner done – too windy to walk the deck so up to horizons and a few hours of rummykub. The view from there is so amazing, I just don’t understand why it isn’t more popular at this hour (people eating late?). Unsure. So..let’s talk about the view. Mountains rise directly from the sea and reach unimaginable heights. If ever you have been to Vancouver, BC – you know what I’m talking about, particularly if you’ve driven the road to Whistler.

The craggy mountains pop out of nowhere. I expect to hear some Wagnerian strains emitting from the mountains. Some of these peaks are snowcapped, some barren. Some have a few trees, others look like shards of rock piercing the sky. So many ways to describe this scene and I‘m at a loss for words.

OK…I’m tired, she ship is rocking and it’s time for bed. Ya hear that Mr Sun….turn out the light (but not permanently). Still shining at 11:30! BROKEN

Advertisement



Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb