Needle Me This....


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway
July 29th 2019
Published: July 29th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Kristiansund, Norway

Well, we’ve seen a lot of Norway. The only other port outside of Norway was Skagen, Denmark. The only other port left outside of Norway is London (well, Southampton) don’t get me wrong this is NOT a complaint – just an observation. Our first cruise in only “one country” Kinda.

So. Last night, when getting into bed, my lower back seized up on me. I couldn’t move. Most unpleasant. Got up, with some effort, took a Tylenol PM and crossed my fingers. Well, that didn’t work-I might have slept about 2 hours. Whenever I moved I woke up.

This morning, taking a shower and getting dressed, was MOST unpleasant. MOST. UNPLEASANT. I hope my feet were clean.

So we got up and tried to make the most of what could be an interesting day. Kristiansund, is a small port town. Not much here, and what there is, is NOT easy to get to. SO….we spent about an hour off the ship. We found an APOTEK, where we purchased some pain meds, in hopes of curtailing the pain in my back. After speaking to the pharmacist, we selected Paracet – 500mg perfect for “smertestillende” . Oh and by the way Big Pharma and USA OTC drug makers…the package has BRAILE on it! TAKE THAT AMERICA! Talk about inclusive!!! We could learn from this. It’s never too late to learn something new. I took two pills – the pharmacist even went so far as to get me water! Talk about service!!!! That would NEVER happen in the good ole US of A. Too worried about being sued.

The pills worked like magic, but I was still a little battle worn. Christopher suggested I get an acupuncture treatment. SO…I made an appointment for later today.

I spent most of the day on the pool deck reading The Underground Railroad. What an excellent book. Highly recommend. My appointment for acupuncture is at 4pm. All aboard is 3:30, sail away 4. Perfect. While I’ve been reading Christopher was in the fitness center working out. Whatever. This is where he learned of the Acupuncture treatments (something new?).

I took a steam before going in for the needle treatment. Ready for my appointment. First he put this device in my ear – felt strange – kinda unpleasant. From it he said…you have a problem with your C2-3 vertebra, and your L4-5 – well…as a matter of fact…I DO! I had surgery for my L4-5 in 1990, and my C2-3 were a BIG factor in my changing careers – couldn’t turn my head for about 5 months. HMM…this bodes well. We went over a few things and he started to massage my back. OMG! He went DEEP. He did all kinds of wonderful on my back. Massaged for a while then the needles came. I think there were over 36 needles in my back, leg, butt, hand and head. I lost count. A few really, REALLY hit the mark. He left them in for a while and instructed me to “breathe”. Um…OK. Do as you’re told.

He came back in, took the needles out and the pretzel stretch began! Guess I’m a little tight. He confirmed my initial “diagnosis” I’ve been off kilter for so long (because of my foot) it threw my back out. UGH. I also learned my right leg is longer than my left – which MIGHT explain why I’m always breaking it….um yeah…NO! You’re just a KLUTZ!

Got off the table and was able to walk to the dressing room and change back into my bathing suit. I felt rather good. Still some pain, but NOTHING like it was. I feel confident it helped.

So, when I went into the appointment, the deck was hot – about 75 – 80 degrees. When I came out, we had left port and it was COLD! NO…COLD! Windy. Chilly. COLD. What happened??? Funny, as I was waiting in the Spa Lounge for my appointment, I thought we have had VERY calm seas since day one. Like skimming on glass – then I thought TAKE. IT. BACK. Because now, you’ve jinxed it! WELL… I have!

The captain came in to let us know we are entering a “low pressure system” and will have a bumpy night. I KNEW IT!. Shoudda just said nothing to myself. Oh well. Not that I think it’s my fault, mind you – just that I should not think about such things!! EVER!

Finally back to the room and out Butler, Sonu, has brought us some crudité, so thoughtful. AND….he arranged for a reservation for us at Jacques. OK….we have been off Jacques for a while, bad experience in 2014. In fact, for our crossing, we cancelled our reservation with Jacques. Perhaps we should give them a second chance.

First, before dinner, we have the Oceania Club Captain’s party at 5:45. We arrive about 5:47 at Horizons lounge, and the place is PACKED! Every table is occupied….free booze!! We were looking for a table, when out of the blue Kathleen and John (from the Terrace the other night – the couple from Pleasanton) motioned us over. We sat and had a VERY nice visit. Amazing what a change of venue and attitude can do for someone. I went from not wanting to chat with anyone the other night to being grateful that I could even sit for any length of time pain free. Small things, big rewards. They are a lovely couple. Like us, this is their 7th cruise with Oceania.

Dinner at Jacques was wonderful. Clearly, they have upped their game. Heck, the chef even came out to say hello. We started with a goat cheese and heirloom tomato souffle (um…more tomato please); I had the roasted chicken (SO. MOIST), Christopher has the Pork Chop with apple – I had a piece, so good. Christopher had a side of Dauphinoise Potato (YASS) and I had a side of Haricot Vert. Perfection. We paired it with a 2017 Sancerre – perfect. Dessert – Christopher had the apple tart – with a side of vanilla ice cream, I had the crepe suzette. They also brought a plate of madeleines and canelé. We were IMPRESSED!!! Jacques, you have redeemed yourself in our eyes.

After dinner we walked out on deck for a few minutes, but I got too cold. Back in to Horizons for our nightly “view” of well…the Horizon! Than back to the room. I’m ready to crash and burn. Didn’t sleep last night, and I’m sated, happy and ready for a good night’s rest.

Tomorrow in Bodo.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb