Unesco World Heritage Site


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway
July 27th 2019
Published: July 28th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Two Stops, One Exit

Another day another Fjord. This, however, is not just ANY Fjord; no this is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Fjord! Don’t ask me how that happens, but it did; and it is well earned. I simply can’t describe what nature has created. Formed out of eons upon eons of friction, erosion and ice; forces of nature beyond comprehension…unless of course you are a Geologist, and it all seems so very logical.

We are in the Geirangerfjord. Considered one of the most beautiful in the world. The Fjord is 260 meters deep while the surrounding mountains are 1600-1700 meters high. It is, in a word, spectacular - and must be seen to be believed.

Today had everyone a little confused. Our itinerary indicates we are making two (2) stops today. HUH? Why? Makes absolutely no sense. Clarification arrived this morning in the voice of our as yet unseen Cruise Director. Our first stop in Hellesylt – a charming village on the Fjord is ONLY to allow those tourists, hearty and hale enough to hike (NO. THANK. YOU) from Hellesylt to Geiranger. Approximately 12 miles. PASS. Their “goal” is to hike from the early drop off point (9am in Hellesylt) and make it back to the ship before 7pm in Geiranger – which is when we sail. GOOD. LUCK! I’m sure they’ll make it; I’m sure it’s gorgeous territory but…Why? Do they have ANY idea as to the terrain they will cover?? These mountains are high – we’re talking Sound Of Music high. I have no qualms about saying no to this tour.

I can’t believe the number of cascading waterfalls. One after the other. We passed by the Seven (7) Sisters, unfortunately only 2 of the sisters were willing to play with us today. The Bridal Vail fall (not to be confused with Yosemite) was S P E C T A C U L A R. I just have no words for the beauty we have had the privilege to experience on this cruise. More to come, or so I’m told!

I had occasion to get up rather early this morning to answer a call of nature. I witnessed an orange glow from under the drapes. Curiosity got the best of me, and I parted them briefly, so as not to waken Christopher. The Norwegian sunrise greeted me (4ish am) with a symphony in orange and pink. I crawled back under the covers wishing I had turned on my phone to take a picture. I got over it once I fell back to sleep. Upon consciousness, still wish I had taken that picture. Missed opportunity. Live and Learn.

Eventually after winding our way through this VERY narrow Fjord – we arrive in Geiranger. Population 70. Today’s population – around 10,000! Hikers. Campers. Oceania Marina Cruise ship, Costa, Pacifica Cruise Ship and various and sundry tour busses. What did we do here? Well…it was 80 degrees so not that much! We got off the ship went to a few stores (remember – NO Air Conditioning) it was cooler outside than in! The shade made the most sense, unfortunately, shade was rare. A slight breeze helped a bit, but not enough to make a difference.

We walked to the bridge spanning yet another cascade waterfall, turned around and went back to the ship. Christopher and I went to the pool deck, in the shade, and relaxed some more. Christopher napped and I finished my book: The Wife, excellent read.

Back to the room about 5pm or so to find our laundry neatly folded and in the bag ready for our use once again, and some canapes which had been previously arranged with our Butler. A nice pick-me-up before dinner tonight. Should go well with the Champagne we found in our room; compliments of the ship. Really good. I can recommend Heidsick MONOPOLE Champagne; nice and dry.

Dinner tonight was in the Grand Dining Room- always nice. Christopher had striped sea bass, I had rack of lamb – we were both pleased with our choices.

Dr, Strangelove is on the TV – we have no WiFi and no off air channels this deep in the Fjord. What we NEED is a satellite in geosynchronous orbit with the ship! Although, I must admit – not knowing what’s going on in the world is a good thing. I posted something for the blog last night, and unfortunately – it didn’t make it! This is NOT easy with limited technology. How do these people live here???

Every so often, as we weave through the Fjord, we see some obscure house – built in the middle of nowhere, on the side of a cliff, hundreds of feet above the water with absolutely NO practical way to reach the property or assemble construction materials. I can’t imagine how these homes were built. It was the topic of conversation up on deck this evening…at 9:30 pm in broad daylight. It is like noon outside and it’s 10pm!

After dinner we spent a fair amount of time just taking it all in. Sometimes one just has to put the “phone/camera” down and see with one’s own eyes rather than being mediated by some electronic device. We just watched, in awe. We are among a privileged few who have been able to enjoy this amazing vista.

We have had a wonderful time thus far and look forward to more. Tomorrow Alesund.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb