A new discovery in Norway in Stavanger


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Stavanger
April 18th 2008
Published: April 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi again,

I was really excited to discover Norway for the first time in Stavanger.
I had a transit in Amsterdam and was amazed by this beautiful airport, the nicest I have ever seen since I travel. Huge and quite a nice dynamic and atmosphere.
I saw a great quote on one jetway and discover it on the photo slide....you will understand how women are so important on this earth !! LOL

I was there for a business meeting which went really well and finalised a great interesting project.

As it finished not too late, I had the opportunity to visit a bit the city.

That's so cute, so different and the houses seem tiny.

With my colleague Carolina (would have loved to be there with Daniela, my dearest colleague), we went to walk in the tiny city and discovered a lovely coffee, or should I say chocolate tea shop where we had a wonderful hot chocolate with marshmallow and an fabulous delicious milk chocolate with peanuts. A dream... I love hersheys butter cups, but THAT..was a delicatessen !!!

I bought some for my birthday party for Saturday evening for my guests.

We visited Conoco Philips a big company extracting oil in the sea on platforms. That was really interesting and we saw the platform live from their huge TV screens. Amazing, they extract oil and gas worth 20 000 dollars per minute !!yehhh -😊
It's the biggest oil platform in the northern sea with 1200 employees living and working on there. They are there for 4 months at most and then go back to Stavanger by ship (that lasts 10 hours). By helicopter that's a one and a half hour trip. Gaz leaves by pipelines laying on the gournd at 40/60 meters deep (no deeper) to Germany and petrol leaves in pipelines direction UK.

This evening we had a celebration dinner in the center of the city to celebrate IAESTE 60 anniversary and also our partnership. We had a good time and you will see the nice cake they prepared.


Next time I will visit the Fjords, to be done mandatorily !! LOL

What an adventure -😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.379s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 26; qc: 112; dbt: 0.1662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb