Day 4 Osterbo to Flam


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Flåm
August 14th 2010
Published: August 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

This was the last day of my hike and it was supposed to have the best scenery and as a result is one of the most popular routes in the area.

After the downpour the day before the sun was out again for the hike to Vassbygdi. I set off with my Belgium chums and on the way passed a German couple that had been doing the same journey from Finse. There are 2 options for this last part of the journey, you can follow the river, which is basically flat or climb 400 metres up Bjornstigen, this is ominously called the bear trail. Obviously wanting to make things as difficult as possible I chose the bear trail, and regretetd it immediately. It did off amazing views but I was that exhausted when I finally got the top I didn't really appreciate it, the near vertical trek down didn't help either.

When I had descended to the fjord I took a rest and a Norwegian chap came up and we started talking, he said that the back of my neck was red (yes I can even get sun burnt in Norway) and got out some sun lotion and started spraying me with it - I didn't have much choice in the matter.

It took 7 hours to do the hike and I don't think I could have walked another day. When I reached the end of the hike at Vassbygdi, I was offered a lift to Flam by some Norwegains that I had met on the walk. But you can get a bus from Vassbygdi to Flam they are very regular.

I didn't have any accommodation booked for the night and already knew that Flam had all the beds booked up. The tourist information office found me a rustic cabin at the edge of Aurland, which was ideal as the Sognefjord ferry stopped there after leaving Flam on the way to Gudvangen which is what I was planning on doing the next day. I then bumped into the German couple again and they were in the same boat as me with nowhere to stay so they tagged along with me to Aurland and we got a cabin together at .

The only problem with it was that it was miles away from the centre of town and there was no bar, so I had a teetotal
night, it was hard but I managed to survive.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb