Norway


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Bergen
August 29th 2008
Published: August 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've made it safely to Norway!!! Wednesday night, I flew to Copenhagen, Denmark and had to spend the night sleeping in the airport....that was interesting. Eight hours, and I was basically the only soul there except for the cleaning crew. It actually wasn't as bad as I had thought it would be. I used my day pack as a pillow and brought a blanket with me, curled up across some seats and slept on and off all night. I surprisingly got a few hours of sleep even. The next morning, I took off to Norway, where my friend, Mike, (from Sweden) who I know from Tampa, came and got me at the airport. It was SOOO nice to see a familiar face and get a REAL HUG from someone I know!!! We headed back to Mike's place and I got settled in and got to catch up on some sleep. Mike gave me his room so I have a HUGE bed, with a comfortable pillow and down comforter ALL TO MYSELF!!! I think at this point, that's the best thing that anyone could have given me!!! I slept SO GOOD for the first time in like two months. It was FABULOUS!!!! Last night, we hung out at Mikes place and drank a little before we went out. Because drinking here is SO SO SO SO expensive. I am AMAZED. Are you ready for this? We went to the grocery store and picked up two six packs of beer which cost us....drum roll please.....SIXTY AMERICAN DOLLARS!!!!! Yeah...that's right....my jaw was dropped for a good 40 minutes while I took this fact in. WHAT??? If anyone is trying to quit drinking, get to Norway, you'll go poor here before you get drunk!!! So after drinking our massively expensive beers, we headed out with some of Mike's friends, went to a few bars and had a few more...but only a few because beer is even MORE expensive when you are out (surprise surprise)....area you ready for this one?? I wasn't.....FIFTEEN dollars for one beer at a bar!!! No exaggeration!!! and thats for like shit, low end beer. I am just amazed by this place. I'm glad I wont be staying here too long, otherwise I'd be coming home next week. haha. Even with the expensive beers, though, I had a great time last night. Today we are going "sight seeing" and Mike is going to show me around Norway, and tonight we are going to head out again. Im definitely looking forward to the next few days! Keep you guys posted!!!

Cassie....yeah...not bringing home any Swedish boys...sorry...i fully intend on coming home ALONE. Mikes a great guy, but just a friend....AND Im staying here with him and his girlfriend who is a sweetheart so....yeah...not happening haha. Anyways...have fun white water rafting!! Im jealous! and good luck moving in to your dorm and starting classes! ill call you next week because i have to talk to you about something anyways. MIss you love you talk to you soon!!!

Uncle Steve - Haha yeah I remember most of Amsterdam...a few select moments are a little hazy, but I DID have a great time. And it IS a different experience!!! I'm a good girl....I don't do that stuff when I'm home!!! 😊 Just over here!!! Haha...anyways Im in Norway now and its great...im so lucky to be able to do something like this. Every three days I wake up in a new country and just think of how fortunate I am. And of course I have to watch over Jake, he'll be getting a shot in the ass from you and his ass BEAT by me if he doesn't do well this year!!! You and I can keep him in line (you getting this Jake) 😊 So, how are things back in Mass?? Anything exciting happening over there?? Tell Kathy and Leah I said hello ( I can talk to Ashley and Alysha on here) and I will talk to you soon!! Love you! Miss you!!!

Auntie Sue - Maine sounds great, I actually haven't been around a beach since I was in Spain, and I'm having some withdrawls...I miss the ocean!!! I mean, there are oceans everywhere, but none that I can lay out on and get tan!! No surprise at all about the margaritas, and definitely wish I was there to join!!! Margaritas are my favorite!!! We'll have to go out for one or three some night when I get home!! Im not sure when you are getting back but enjoy the rest of your vacation and I'll talk to you soon! love and miss you!

Katie...yeah it was definitely interesting lol. The second time around I only took a little bit and it was MUCH better...by the way i was out the other night and some swedish guy had on a Brady jersey so I took a pic with him lol.....he was like "yeah pats!!! I've been to foxborough!!!" haha...it was crazy! small world!!!!

Jake - So how is school going so far??? You better be on top of things!! ill be checking up on you!!!! who do you have for teachers and what classes are you taking?? Are you playing JV football? I want to see you play when I get home, okay? AND i am going to one of your hockey games for sure this year!!!! i will be home soon....not too long now...it will be here before you know it!!! Some time in the middle of October Ill be there...hows everything else? I saw Batman last night....such a good movie!! How many times have you seen it??? Haha smoke a J, smoke a B....I will do that for you, but only because you better not!! haha love you bud!!




Advertisement



1st September 2008

Miss you!
Hey sweetie, Sorry about the other day couldn't answer I had friends of the family over, and we were at dinner. But anyway, Norway sounded like you had a great time, it's good to hear you finally saw someone you actually know. The prices are SICK... SIXTY bucks.. yeah umm no bueno... Nothing crazy over here. USF killed in their first game 56-7 and the only scored because our third string QB fumbled the ball. So that's a good sign. It sucks down in Ft lauderdale, cause I don't get any of the games except the ones on ESPN. I actaully called rich to pick up a Slingbox and hook it up to his tv so I can tap into his box and watch it on my computer haha, but last second decided not to. Still Debating it.... Oh Yeah I'm glad you like the bumper sticker Anyways, I Miss You Love You, Call me Soon! Chris
2nd September 2008

hi
hey girly ~! your trip sounds amazing! where are your next few places you would like to visit ? your doing a really good job getting all the good spots ! Does is cost 15 $ in euros or in us total dallors for a beer ? thats crazy! and we thought blue martini was expensive. ha! I cant wait for you to come back and tell me all the stories in person ? and RoMANCE going on over there ? lol miss you girly ! xoxoxox
3rd September 2008

Hey hey
Sounds like youre having an awesome time! Be sure to get back safe so we can "jam" to some Matt and drink some cheaper drinks!! Take care!
3rd September 2008

Back from Vacation
So back to the real world today. Vacation was great. I swam in the freezing cold Atlantic everyday it was so hot on the beach. When are you coming home? I am having Family Karaoke at Bumbles on Oct 18th I think.. I have to confirm with everyone but it looks like that is the best day. If you are home please come. we are leaving for Disney the following weekend so it we don't do it then it will have to be in November sometime. How is Norway? Other than expensive beer, what is there to do? Where are you off to next? Be good.. Sue
4th September 2008

hey
I cannot believe how expensive beer there is!!! No wonder Swedish mike used to go out every night while he was here, its the only time he could afford to get drunk! haha sounds like your having a great time, and I CANNOT believe you smoked, haha, thats awesome. Miss ya!! Have you had any good make out sessions with some cute foreigners? :-)

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb