Bergen Day Two


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Bergen
August 15th 2019
Published: August 15th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I explored more of Bergen today and this time I didn’t need an umbrella even once. The sun was shining first thing this morning, so I decided it was a good time to ride the funicular to the top of Fløyen, a hill near town with views. The sun was in my eyes as I tried to take a selfie from the summit and the view was nice, but not as nice as the viewpoint I visited later in the day, so I’ll include a picture from there at the end. Later in the morning I went to the Kings Hall for the daily tour. The guide did her best but the truth is that medieval Bergen has a pretty dull history and, while one can admire the reconstruction job on the huge 700-year old hall, nothing terribly exciting happened here. Next I wandered down to the waterfront where the fresh fish is sold. Then I popped into a Subway shop and bought a “picnic” lunch. I found the shuttle bus that takes you out of town to the station for the cable car that takes you to the top of Mt. Ulriken (2,000ft). I thought it would be pretty smart to ride up to the top on such a fine day and enjoy the views. Everyone else in town had the same idea, so it was a bit crowded getting up there. But once I got there the views were grand and I enjoyed eating my (belated) lunch and looking out all the way to the North Sea.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb