Oslo


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
August 16th 2019
Published: August 16th 2019
Edit Blog Post

This morning I flew from Bergen to Oslo and it was a remarkably automated experience. I checked in, checked my suitcase, went through security, and boarded the plane without speaking a word to anyone. I never did have to show my ID. I have noticed that Norway is, in general, much more automated than the United States. One rarely needs cash. I pay for nearly everything from a hotel room to a soft drink with my credit card. And unlike the US, waiters in restaurants have handheld devices that take credit cards so the bill is paid while you sit at the table. But back to Oslo. For some reason Oslo is known as Tiger Town (and I thought that was Detroit!) so there is a large tiger statue that greets visitors as they exit the main train station. I went for a walk through town this afternoon and passed by the Town Hall which is where the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded each December. Nearby is the Nobel Peace Center which is a sort of museum with information about past winners and a special emphasis on the most recent ones. The high tech displays inside are informative, but don’t photograph well. I tried to include the one with a picture of Mother Theresa, but all you can make out is Mihail Gorbachev.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.454s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.2547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb