Averøy 2011 Febr.6


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Averoy
February 27th 2011
Published: February 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On the 5th of Febr I had work on Storsandøya island and after it I had a stroll in very stormy weather - wind blowing through me and waves crashing over the rocks. Also, had a tour in the fishing boat. Time - less than 1 hour in open air.
Sunday, the 6th of Febr. in the morning got in the car and decided to go around Averøya island as it was sprinkle rainy. Winters in general are mild here thanks to Gulf stream, which ends few hundred kilometers to the South from here. Other remarks about weather - South winds can be very strong and makes the sea very stormy compared to the North winds. I am from Lithuania, so for me there west winds from the Baltic sea usually means storm and precipitation, here mainly South and North winds.

Drive around the Averøy island can be about 50 km. Managed to stop and hike between rains. Not many stopping points either and no markings for trails, so I never know does the road will take me to the mountains or to some farm. Once again, stopped near the road and took steep climb and again ended on the mountain with antenna, got back by road from it, but this is South side of the island. Impressive view opens over Kvernesfjorden with mainland mountains of Eide, Gjemnes and others. Already picked favorite, looked like frozen wave, so different from other mountains. Yet, this is second choice after some mountains in the distance, which my eyes caresses on everyday walks. Soon that dream will come true.. Sorry, again didnt have camera with me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb