Amazing visit to Kristiansand, Norway


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Southern Norway » Kristiansand
June 8th 2018
Published: June 8th 2018
Edit Blog Post

If you have been racking your brain trying to figure where to visit when taking a trip to Norway, perhaps my experience in Kristiansand will help guide you in making the right decision. We plotted up in the super Yess! Hotel and hit Kristiansand Touted as the largest tourist attraction in Norway, the city boasts some of the most magnificent must-visit attractions. From the Kristiansand Museum, to the Zoo, Fiskebrygga, the Gimle Gård Manor house amongst others, I couldn't get enough of what the area had to offer - all through my trip. I felt like being in some paradise on earth. Without keeping you in anymore suspense, here are 5 places everyone visiting Norway (Kristiansand in particular) should see.

KRISTIANSAND CATHEDRAL

www.kristiansanddomkirke.no

As one of the largest cathedral in Norway, Kristiansand Cathedral usually played host to at least 3,200 attendees. Although it's holding capacity has recently been reduced to 1,000 at a time, I still saw how magnificent the building was. It's neo-Gothic style made it stand out from amongst the other landmark buildings I saw during my trip. The cathedral was designed by Henrik Thrap-Meyer - an architect - and built in 1885. It's located at the city square, covering an area of over 2500 meters square. Apparently the church was built 3 times. First with wood (which was destroyed by fire), then with stone (it got burnt again), and finally the one standing today - which still has a part affected by World War II. It's a must visit. It's open all year round.

KRISTIANSAND KANONMUSEUM

www.vestagdermuseet.no

Located in Møvik, Kristiansand, this monumental museum is home to some of the Second World War's battery. Stepping into the museum, I was faced with a really huge cannon - which I learnt is the second largest in the world. I kept wondering how soldiers got around to maneuvering that mighty ton of metal. Other artifacts I came across include the 380mm Krupp gun (the last remaining of its kind on earth) amongst others. The railway track that transported ammunition for the Germans is situated within the museum premises, also is bunker 55 (a vintage arms storage facility). I also learnt that the fort was built as a defence area for the Germans, under Hitler's direct order. If you are interested in war stories, the Kristiansand Cannon Museum is one place you must visit.



KRISTIANSAND ZOO AND AMUSEMENT PARK

www.dyreparken.no

Known as Dyreparken among the locales, the Kristiansand Zoo is one of Norway's most visited site attractions. It was my first time seeing animals like the moose, Lynx cat and Wolves. Not forgetting when I was surrounded by the Nordic wilderness, making me feel I was in some horror movie set. I also got around to seeing the red panda (one of the world's endangered animals), and some domestic animals like goats, chickens and horses at KuToppen - the farm on the hill.

All in all, my trip to Kristiansand was memorable. Did I forget to tell you about the Odderoya island, just close to Fiskebrygga? Okay, that's one plate you need to go check out by yourself!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb