No night in Narvik


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Southern Norway » Grimstad
July 2nd 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0



Untitled I arrived in Narvik on a Monday at 7 pm thinking I wouldn´t have any problem getting a room. Now that I´ve become more accustomed to traveling, the first thing I do is grab a hotel brochure at the train station and start calling for a room. Well I run out of Norwegian money before I find a place to stay, then I look at the map of Narvik and realize the hotels I haven´t called are all with in 10 blocks. I set out with my back pack to track down a hotel, the only one that has a room is five star and $500 a night. By now I´ve walked up and down main street twice in search of a place to lite with no luck. I realized I´d better get more money and have to walk all over town again going to four different bank machines before I find one that works This time of year the the sun doesn´t set in Narvik, it just circles around over head. Now that I had some Norwegian Crowns in my pocket I hale a taxis (I was tired of walking) and set out for the camping grounds to pitch my sleeping bag/tent.

Lots of people camping. I find a empty spot in the tall grass and make my home for the night. As I set up my camp, I´m listening to five different languages; father and son from Denmark, a Swede who has ridden his bike from Stockholm, a couple from Germany and another from Norway. My tent attachs to the head of my sleeping bag and once I crawl inside there isn´t much room, just a little tight. The other thing that I didn´t realize is that the sun would be in my eyes at 2 AM once it got past the trees.

I spent the next day touring around Narvik, its a nice town with lots to offer from museums to hiking. Took the tram up the hill for a spectacular view. A bunch of kids brought their mountain bikes up the tram and rode them down the hill. I also toured the WWII museum and saw a film about the naval battles in the fjords between the Germans and the British. Over 40 ships sank and thousands of men killed and we still haven´t learn war is not the answer.

In the evening I took the bus to Flausta and caught the night train to Trondenheim. It seems around every turn there is a incredible view in Norway, the fjords rise dramaticly out of the water as if they were pushed straight up. Having such great views all the time makes long trips seem much shorter.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb