Tromsø Arctic Cathedral and hilly hiking


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway » Tromsø
July 25th 2018
Published: July 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I made sure I got up so that I had enough time to have breakfast without rushing. Made it by 9:30 which was just right. After breakfast I spent the morning catching up on my blog. While I was working on it I received an email from the tour company advising me that the tour I had booked for tonight was to be cancelled due to weather conditions - they said cloud and fog. Damn - but this just meant I now had more time to finish my blog before heading off for the day.

Just after 12:30 I was finished on the blog and was right up to date as at the previous night - yay! I decided to walk over the big bridge joining the island to the mainland, as I wanted to see the Arctic Cathedral and then I was keen to walk the hiking trail to Storsteinen which is the mountain visible across the water, where the cable car runs to.

It only took about 25 minutes to walk across the bridge to the Arctic Cathedral. It is quite a stricking building and certainly stands out. From here I walked to the base of the cable car to find out about the walking trails. The lady at the Tourist Office had explained there are two trails to the top - one is longer (1 1/2 to 2 hours) but easier to do than the other one which is much shorter but is stairs all the way up. I decided to do the longer hike as I was also told it is the prettiest. There weren't a lot of people around so I sent Janine and photo of my location in case I got lost - at least someone would know where I was lol. I told her if she didn't hear back by that night then she should send out the search party.

It certainly was a beautiful walk although quite challenging in many parts as it was more of a track and there was quite a bit of uphill but this just gave me an excuse to stop for a photo ?. Occasionally I passed someone on the trail but they were always coming down. I was really enjoying the walk, even the tough bits, as at least the cooler air made the walk easier than the Cinque Terra. When I was about 3/4's of the way up it started to drizzle and then eventually it started raining. Lucky I had packed my rain jacket and an umbrella, although I am wondering how water proof the jacket is now! As I was getting closer to the top I finally saw someone heading in the same direction as me but they were lycra'ed up for their daily run! Still, it helped me to know that I was heading in the right direction.

Finally I reached the summit - the rain didn't stop but I enjoyed the most amazing views as I walked along, for quite a way, on the very top. Actually, it was for further than I thought so I was glad when I eventually saw the top of the cable car and knew I was getting closer. By this stage I was pretty soaked through but that feeling of achievement makes the rest fade away.

I made it into the builying that had a cafe/restaurant and the cable car stop. I had planned to walk back down on the shorter, downhill path with stairs but I was so wet and it was still raining I decided I would buy the single cable car ticket - and a hot coffee! I had arrived at the cable car station at 4pm and the next ride was at 4:30 so I stood there dripping and enjoying the coffee which under normal circumstances I would have spat out!

Finally it was time to get into the cable car and head down. I stood right at the front so I could see the view and just as I was lining up my camera ro take a shot, a cloud came and covered the entire view! We all laughed! I did manage to video some of the downhill ride and it was quite dramatic to start in the cloud but then it dissipated and the view was amazing! Once back down at the bottom I decided to walk back to Tromsø town, over the bridge again. By this stage I was getting hungry as I hadn't eaten anything since breakfast. Once back in town i decided I would find somewhere to eat because once I got back to my hotel I wanted to have a hot shower and just relax.

After walking around for a while, trying to decide what I felt like, I found a pasta place and that sounded good. I ordered the spaghetti with shrimps, onion, garlic and chili. It was delicious and had just the right chili hit! The chef told me whenever I collected it that it was quite spicy and he hoped I like it. Like it? I loved it ?. After I finished I went back to where he was and told him it was perfect! He was pleased.

By now it was about 6:30 so I went back to my room and had a hot shower. I used the time to do some hand washing and now I am looking forward to some red wine and Netflix - oh yeah!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0957s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb