Badditude


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway » Bodø
April 5th 2011
Published: April 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

2 headed dog2 headed dog2 headed dog

haahaaaa but seriously, can you tell where one dog begins and the other ends?
It's pretty funny how similar older people can be to teenagers. The issues in the green group are very similar to the issues that I had in class back on practicum. Classroom management, inappropriate comments, apathy, sass, refusing to do work.. it's kind of funny really. This group, as I mentioned yesterday, if VERY different than the blue group. In many ways, no just age. As some of the instructors told me, one of the most important things at VHSS is the community. Every group that comes here comes in a group. Then they stay for 2, 3, 4 weeks, depending on the group. The point is that they come, stay, eat, and sleep together the entire time they are here (their rooms are in the same hallway- so close. they don't actually sleep together.) The reasoning for this is to try to build a community spirit and help each other try new things and grow together. This can backfire, however, if there are many people in the group who don't want to do things, or have a negative attitude. This is what has been happening with this group. Today started out in the pool, and then they had a diet
NATURE!NATURE!NATURE!

love what my camera did with the blue there. splendid
counseling session. Even though I didn't understand Norwegian I could tell that some were more willing to listen than others. IT was actually very much like a high school classroom, and then you had the kid in the class who didn't understand anything for the whole hour (me) .. I hope my classes aren't like that.
Anyways, after the diet counseller it was food, resistance training and then outdoors. In the blue group we were outside most days, all the time. Not this week. I was even starting to get a tan! Nonetheless, I still got out for a ski today, and was able to take some more nature shots around the VHSS general vicinity. Unfortunately, I have not yet spotted the elusive reindeer, but I did manage to get a bird I've been wanting to get for about 3 weeks now! We can call the bird quasi-elusive, since I got him today. The weather is warming up here, and the snow is beginning to melt, you know so the snow banks are only 7 feet now instead of 8. I would love to be here in the summer too, because they can do other things like hiking, fishing, canoeing
GotchaGotchaGotcha

Quasilusive
and horseback riding. Who knows? Maybe I will just have to!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

GammeGamme
Gamme

aka. Sami house - or what you can see of it over the drift - note the grass-on-roof look


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb