GOODBYE


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway » Bodø
April 8th 2011
Published: April 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Best Cake in the WorldThe Best Cake in the WorldThe Best Cake in the World

I had left and then came back just to take this picture...
Tonight will be my last night in Norway!
I am extremely sad to leave the mountains and VHSS, but very excited to get back to Canada. Ironically I am staying at the same hostel tonight that I stayed in the first night in Norway. Today's goodbye was touching, everyone was so nice and I got to have cake (the self-proclaimed best cake in the world).. that's what it's called... and waffles with the staff and played a game of "cub" with my group - an old viking game where you have to throw little pieces of logs... basically.. it rules. The weather is getting nicer here which makes me even more excited for the spring awaiting me in Canada!
When I go to list everything I have learned, it doesn't seem like much, but every little piece I learned about the culture - saying "oi" instead of oh no, cranberry jam with roast beef (actually - jam with everything), skinny waffles and pancakes, Christmas on the 24th, hugging by touching cheeks (after a very awkward moment where I thought she was going in for a kiss on the cheek and I almost did it and then realized that that wasn't what was happening at all.....), cheese and bread, knitting is actually COOL here, kvikk lunsj, skiing, skiing and more skiing, heated bathroom floors!, saunas, "Hei Hei! and Heyoo", brown cheese, NUGATTI, Softe (hot lemonade), reindeer skins to sit on when making camp, proud stories about their heritage and history, dog sled water skiing - I just love every little bit of it! They have something great going on here at VHSS and hopefully Canada will figure that out soon enough (who knows - maybe I will have something to do with that). The people here are incredibly welcoming, warm, proud and knowledgeable. They are more than happy to share stories and information about Norway's history and geography. They are so proud of their country and it shows. It's very nice to see. VHSS has something unique on its own. The adapted physical activity is so great for patients and you can see the change in them while they are here. Not to mention the extensive research that supports it. On top of activity, the focus out here on being outside and "friluftsliv" (Free air life) is embedded in everything they do! I will be very sad to leave this place and hope to be back in the summer (if for nothing more than to get a picture of a REINDEER!)
Ha Det Bra Norway! You are Glorious!

Advertisement



8th April 2011

picture
so do people see you take pictures of all your food? cuzz that may be a factor in your awkward meals? but great blog kirb! it was lovely so share the adventure with you 8) !
9th April 2011

Nice!
Nice to see you enjoyed Norway, here are pics from a trip to North Cape 2 years ago, with lots of reindeers :) https://picasaweb.google.com/oysesp/NordkappJuli2009# And here is my homepage with more Canada pictures. http://home.online.no/~o-oespe/index.html
23rd May 2011

Cake
I have been looking for the country of origin of The World's Best Cake for a while now, so that I can make it. Your blog was the best lead. Thanks for writing about it because I've now found the recipe!!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb