Midnight Sun and ATVing


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Sandvika
July 24th 2015
Published: July 24th 2015
Edit Blog Post

As I begin to write this at 12:15am (technically Friday morning of the 23rd) I take pictures of how bright it is outside. The midnight sun is a natural phenomenon that occurs when the sun remains visible at midnight. I noticed that there is only a few hours of darkness but it get lights again at 4am.
i have combined a few days activities for the most part as I have spent much time enjoying the ATV.
The weather here has been cool for the month of July with the temperature dropping to 2degrees Celsius in the evenings to 17 degrees in the day time. We have had many visitors and of course spent much time outside. From the pictures, one can see I love the ATV and the country side. I took Andreas for a ride on Thursday along the main road. Andy, Andreas and I went for a bit together as well. Andy is a much more adventurous then I am. I prefer the straight and more flat roads while he seeks out the hilly and rock terrain. I went out again Friday while Gry and Benedicte rode the horses.
Joan came to Sokna on Thursday and joined us for dinner as did Margit who seems to join the family every evening around dinner. Gry and I made grilled vegetables, potatoes with cheese and a variety of mixed meats. Later in the evening, Heidi, Benedicte's mom came to get Benedicte. Heidi is an optometrist where she lives which is 2 plus hours away from the cottage, in Brumunddal. That evening, we visited over a bottle of wine.
Friday morning, we moved the puppies from the house to the garage then we did a little more riding of the ATV and horses and then went to into town with the girls.
We stopped by a jewelers, Berttatt in Noresund, who makes beautiful silver pieces by hand. Her work is very nice and quiet expensive. We also went to a sporting goods store where I bought some new shoes for myself then to a quaint little special store. All the stores here for the most part carry beautiful, high quality items at a very dear price.



Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb