July/August...End of summer


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
September 4th 2006
Published: October 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Flag or not flag?Flag or not flag?Flag or not flag?

What are your thoughts? Located on a family friend's property.
Well as some of you guys may already know I have started my first job here in Norway. I drive around outside of Oslo for 10 hours a day, collecting petrol prices.
Just what I needed, a pretty relaxed job after RMIT. The toughest parts are that I have to wake up at 5am or be forced to listen to Norwegian radio in the car when Lars’s Ipod runs out of battery. I work part time. I only get paid the minimum wage, but what can I expect when I’m only really using my brain power to remain on the right side of the road and interpret the weird road signs.

Things I have noticed since I have started working:


Birds/Fugler:

In Norway the term “bird brain” gives a new meaning. The birds here are either stupid or suicidal. They sit by the side of the road and jump up and fly INTO the car as you pass. I’m not sure why they do it. Norway isn’t that bad.


Moose/Elg:

The King of the Forest here in Norway. Big and ran across the road as I was driving.
Lars
Plane boomgatesPlane boomgatesPlane boomgates

See it is true.
knows how to call for one (it involves some strange nose movements…which I'm not going to get into!) but I think seeing one from a bit of a distance is good enough for me.


Flags/flagg:

Lars and I argue about them. Would you call the thing in the photo a flag? I would. Lars believes they are called “streamers”. Anyway no matter that they’re called, they represent Norway and I can’t believe that along 230kms that I drive to complete one run there are 37 of them. Anyone would think that I was living in America and that’s why Lars likes to call them streamers. Go figure.


Boomgates/Vegbom:
In Australia I’m used to boomgates when I drive around. The whole concept is quite simple. The gates go down, you hear a little bell, you stop the car, and a train passes.
On my run I pass a boomgate as well. Same concept. The gates go down, you hear a little bell, you stop the car, and the plane passes. A freakin plane !!!! See photos.


So enough about work stuff.
Just in case you are all wondering, yes
I’ve been back to Evergreen, have played Jenga and drunk more cheap beer.


Sweden/Sverige:

Sweden is right next to Norway, they have produced people like Björn Borg and the IKEA man. Now they have cheap meat for Norwegians. So just like good bogan Norwegians we headed there with Lars’s family. First stopping off close to the border to catch up with Lars’s grandma who ended up coming along as she could not forego such good savings. Then we drove 7 kms (!) over the border to buy meat. No kidding, that’s all we did. Sweden is so fun to visit.


Håkon/aka Haåkon:

One night I had enough of our bare white walls, which we are not allowed to paint, so I decided to create Håkon. Håkon has now become the 3rd member of our household and is sticky taped to the wall. I just never know when I will walk into the living room to see his head hovering somewhere it shouldn’t over his own body. See photos.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

HåkonHåkon
Håkon

Also my Norwegian teacher


5th October 2006

It sounds like you are having a good time over there. Happy to hear that it is not raining 24/7 like when we were there! I am with you on the boomgates - I've never heard of them for planes! Say hello to Lars for me.
5th October 2006

My vote
Im going to throw my hat in and vote "minature flag that could be mistaken for a streamer".
6th October 2006

just wondering....
do people in norway try and cross the boom gates when they are closed, then get their cars squished by the planes, like idiots do in australia??
7th October 2006

Maria the Tour Guide?
I was day-dreaming about flying to Norway and driving around with you; helping to write down petrol prices, discussing flag streamers and enjoying the wonderful sites of the Norwegian country side; when it came to me. You earn a little extra cash on the side by picking up tourists along your route. You could share your Norwegian Knowledge with eager packpackers between petrol stations. It would be cheaper than a real tour, and the tourists have the option of getting out at any time. Plus you will have a bit of company. According to Oxford Dictionary Online a streamer (noun) is "a long and narrow pointed flag". So technically he is still calling it a flag. Haha Maria wins!

Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb