August/September - family


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
November 12th 2006
Published: November 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

CalabriaCalabriaCalabria

View from my Grandmother's place!
Lars and I headed to Italy, had a quick stopover in Rome and then went to the southern part of Italy in Calabria to visit my family.

Highlights included:
My family
Homemade food (pasta) and wine - lots of it of course!
Beach

We had a great time, apart from losing my luggage and not being able to buy any clothes from the village we stayed in (It only sold wedding dresses and jewellry). We knew we had a great holiday as we brought back a few extra kilos of body fat and a great tan.

After our return we had more family fun by going to Lars’s cousin’s confirmation.

Highlights included:
Lars’s family
More food BUT: no alcohol (not allowed at this type of family function), but we manage to drink a bottle with Lars’s parents before going to it.

Did you know that in Norway you are meant to have a confirmation even if you are not religious. Non religious confirmation is normally done through the state. In the old days you couldn’t even get a job if you were not confirmed. That's nuts!

Stine (Lars's sister) was also here to visit. So we did the done thing on a Sunday and played frisbee and drank beer in the park.

September was also the beginning of my flea market adventures with my Norwegian friend. Best purchase: A snowboard with boots for $20.

To my delight I found more than one Cafe selling soy milk lattes. Many of them actually make them with Vanilla soy, yummy!

I was so sick of the white walls in our place, that Lars and I started a collage on the wall. Any vistor to our place must now leave behind something that can be placed on the wall. So far we have condoms, a frisbee, photos and money notes from various places visited in the world. Please feel free to send me anything you wish to add.

I also planted Basil, Oregano, Rosemary, Parsley and Chives.





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

At the beachAt the beach
At the beach

With my Uncle and cousins in Italy
WallWall
Wall

Crap on our wall


12th November 2006

Granny
Just love the pic of your Granny.... :) I can imagine she is a champion pizzamaker!!
13th November 2006

White walls
Sounds as if you are having a ball learning about the Norwegian culture. About white walls, I think you need to see my sister, the artist. living in Vikersund a couple of hours drive from Oslo. Liv Grønlund Sørensen, Råen, Vikersund , e mail adress(es): livsg@online.no , ph 03 788053 She is very nice and it is a nice drive to Vikersund. Liv went to the College of the Arts in Melb. Italy sounded very nice. how is the Norwegian going? And work?

Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb