Oslo...tomorrow's utopia...at least till the end of the summer!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
September 1st 2010
Published: September 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This past week-end, I had a wedding on Saturday and a family reunion on Sunday. Both of these days were held in Belgium...but I do not really fancy to jump on a plane for 2 days....so here is the first little side trip.

My first stop, Oslo. I know, I do not do justice at all to Norway. I should have stay way longer. But in life, there is what we should do...and what we can do, not always the same. So consider this only as a little amuse-bouche, but a very lovely one.

So for me, Tuesday night, flight from Bangkok to Vienna with a connection few hours later to Oslo. The weather was not really impressive the few days before my arrival, rain and 13 degrees is not really what I like to experience when I reach a new country. But hey, I arrive with a sunny sky, and some 18 to 20 degrees....nice!

Oslo is....yes...expensive. Or should I say....are they mad or what, this place is way more expensive than even London! Nice little hotel in the center of town, checked. Train to go from the airport to the city...and back, checked. Nice weather, checked! Ok, what else. Good news I stopped in the duty free for some wine. Having a drink is seriously expensive in Oslo, but eating out too! I only wanted to have "fastfood"....and at 13 euros for your average fastfood chain meal, this is....not really great. Next best news, the city is rather small...meaning, very "walkable".

Yes, I spent my all time walking all around....and wow, this place is really cute. Norway is the "social model" per excellence. Seems this is a dream place to live. You see all these eco-friendly initiatives....and you agree....you see all these people so well dressed....yes, you can say it, beautiful people...you think wow, I know salaries are very high...but imagine how much they spend just to live here....and than you go next step....this place is paradise....but we are in early september, not sure I would share the same view in January.

But than it strike me. So many police all over...is this how they keep unemployment so low...just get in the forces! And at the same time, yes, so many beggars all around...ok, you have to know, beggars here are not blondes with blues eyes, but still, why so many beggars? You understand my point, I'm not that sure that this is paradise anymore. It looks great, it smells great, but somewhere, somehow, there is something wrong.

To be honest, I had only 24 hours here, so what I have is just a feeling. You do not judge a city on 24 hours, that's for sure. I did not spend my evening out...why run around for incredibly expensive drinks....when you have everything you need at home?

So this was it, my little visit of Oslo. I would not say I've seen Norway....the fjords, the countryside, this is clearly for another time.

Oslo feels great, looks great...and I really enjoy my stay here...I'm just not very sure where to put the utopia in this place!

My next stop, a little to the south, after a short flight from Oslo....but for this, just wait a little. Oh yes, and I did not tell you....Oslo airport...they claim they have one of the biggest duty free in the world...I tend to agree on this. This airport is so impressive. Yes, you could say, they have a beautiful airport! selling beers, wine...all of these....on departure...but mainly on arrival I feel....the biggest dutyfree on arrival ever....for sure if you know how many people live in Norway!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



7th September 2010

Do you ever stay still?!
We're having trouble keeping up with where you are! Bangkok one minute, Oslo the next...you must be getting to be an expert in avoiding jet lag! Thanks for the comment on our last blog, we hope to go back to Thailand at some point (waiting for cheap flights!) so we will give you a shout when we are back there. You let us know if you are in our part of Asia, still in Phils at the moment. Stay well and safe!
7th September 2010

Beggars
Hey, you know most of the beggars come from eastern Europe. After they joined EU they can travel all over Europe, and they come here because they know there are lot of money here, and they hope to get some. Pity but nothing to do about it, begging is not a crime.
10th September 2010

Good to see you enjoyed Oslo
Pierre im so glad you finally got to set foot in Norway, and also that you enjoyed it. If only you came to visit when we are there, not quite though will be there in a month or so. Lucky you had good weather, we will be there in the winter :)

Tot: 0.698s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 40; qc: 137; dbt: 0.3347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb