Random Happenings


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
December 3rd 2005
Published: December 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I went running for the first time in the snow. Bobbi Jo and I woke up at 5:30 for a quick “wake me up” jog and were greeted by a white ground and soft snow flurries. It really wasn’t as cold as I thought it was and I enjoyed starting my day off with surrounded my such beauty.

Friday night when we (Beat, Karoline, Kaspars B & myself) went out evangelizing and as usual it was hard getting started. I don’t know why it is still so difficult to just begin a conversation. I tried just smiling at people and saying hi but Norwegians don’t make much eye contact when they pass people on the street so it wasn’t working. Finally I prayed for God to help us get over this barrier we were creating and even bring someone to us. I saw a couple of men standing by a sign of some sort so I just walked up behind them and started looking at what they were looking at. They noticed me and one turned around and said something to me in Norwegian. I told him I only spoke English and thankfully they did as well. They asked me what I thought of Norway and the conversation just went from there. I found it very difficult to turn the conversation to God for some reason and my teammates weren’t helping. I finally told them we were in a mission training school and asked them if they had any beliefs regarding God. They both said of course they did, that they were Christians and that Norway was a Christian nation. After a few more sentences, I realized that was more of a blanket statement having nothing to do with Jesus at all. One of them said that the god of each religion is the same god and that each decides who they want to find that god. I said I know there is only one God then tried to explain how Christianity is different. We went back and forth and then he told me I was a good talker, and then kind of sarcastically said or is it God speaking through you. I replied that I hoped so. The friend of the man I was talking to, I could tell was listening to what I was saying because all of a sudden he asked me how I knew God listened to my prayers. The conversation with the first man eventually reached a point where I realized it was not worth continuing so I told them it was nice meeting them, shook their hands, and wished them a blessed evening. Not every conversation leads someone to salvation right at that moment but I know seeds of life were planted.

On our way back from evangelizing I decided it would be fun to have a snow fight. I guess I can’t complain since I was the one who started it but afterwards I felt like I had gone to war and lost miserably. At one point I was on the ground and Beat was kicking snow at me! I was screaming at Karoline to help me but I didn’t really she was being dragged through the snow a few meters away from me. Afterwards I had snow in my pockets and in my jacket and I had traces of mascara on my face from the snow that had been thrown in my face. I think I got in a few good shots but I’m just not as experienced in snow fights as theses guys. I will have my revenge!



Advertisement



7th December 2005

Wow!
Wow! You're using meters now instead of feet! You really are changing! ;)

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb