I finally have my feet on the ground.


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
August 17th 2007
Published: August 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

UniversitetUniversitetUniversitet

The Faculty of Law
I arrived in Frankfort, Germany at 5:30 a.m., with a bit of tension and zero hours of sleep since 6:30 the previous morning. My connecting flight to Oslo did not leave until 8:30, so I had a couple hours to spare. I found my gate and happily dropped my suitcases that could have housed a couple of dead bodies. After giving up on attempting shuteye in a hard plastic sofa, anxiety began to kick in when I realized it was 8:10 and absolutely no announcement was being made for my flight. I asked a German woman next to me and she assured me that "I was just early." "Early?" Um no. Turns out I was waiting for the 10:30 flight. I checked my plane ticket repeatedly: B 10. Where was I? GateB10...Oops, airlines made a mistake and meant B9. Silly them. The plane took off 10 minutes late anyways. Mr. Pilot was either waiting for me or the Europeans just aren't as punctual. For some reason, I'm thinking the latter.

Taking the flytoget, then the t-bane, then a metro, I arrived at Bjolsen Student Village to obtain my awaiting keys. I met two German girls, Elena and Nadine, while standing
MajorstuenMajorstuenMajorstuen

T-bane station
in line. They seemed stressed, but friendly at the same time. Meeting people while they're vulnerable is always self assuring for me, considering I'm usually quite awkward at first impressions. The girls walked me to Sogn studentby (my "dorm") and even helped me carry my luggage. Danke schoen! I managed to get some well deserved REM by 5:00 pm, while the sun was still shinning and people were walking about. I awoke at midnight to a surrealistic feeling. "Wow, I'm actually in Norway."




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Aker BryggeAker Brygge
Aker Brygge

The boats, sun, and me!
Intimidating guardsIntimidating guards
Intimidating guards

This is totally for show.
OverlookingOverlooking
Overlooking

Top of Akerhus castle
Peep holePeep hole
Peep hole

Possibly where arrows would've been shot though at invadors?
CanonCanon
Canon

This is my punishment for interacting with some Swedes down the street.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb