Oslo 1st Day


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
September 24th 2006
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

KarljohanKarljohanKarljohan

main street of Oslo
After a good night sleep I finally got my energy back and I felt ready to finally see the city of Oslo. We took the trikk (which is what they call to their trams) and got off at Brugata. And then we (my aunt and I) went inside the mall called Oslo City and met up with her friend. I was first confused about 'Oslo City' but it wasn't long until I realized that Oslo City refers to the mall and not the city of Oslo itself. This mall is not hard to find and you can find it near the Oslo Central Station in Jernbanetorget.

After having some coffee and drinks in Oslo City, me and my aunt left and walked to Karljohan which is the main street of Oslo. I really had no idea what Oslo looks like so I was really surprised that it was actually quite a beauty. It is just a small city that's why you can see the main sites just by mostly walking.

There were lost of shops and restaurants along Karljohan and also some major hotels. My aunt showed me the Stortinget which is the Parliament building. And then there's the
Royal PalaceRoyal PalaceRoyal Palace

the royal palace in Oslo
Nationaltheatret (National Theather). From there we headed to Akerbrygge which is the port of the city. Flowers were still in bloom and that made the place more beautiful. After walking around the area, we went back to Karljohan and headed to the Royal Palace. It was fun to see some royal guards marching to and from their designated place.

After that we walked through Karljohan again and went to play some bingo. Most people that you would see in bingo games in Oslo are either old Norwegians or foreigners/immigrants. After playing some games I went out for a while and walked around Majorstua. There was this old building there that was said to be used as a prison in the world war days. I forgot it's name unfortunately. I took some pictures and then joined my aunt in the bingo again.

That was my first day. I intended on staying in Oslo for months so there was no rush in seeing everything on my first day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

me in Karljohanme in Karljohan
me in Karljohan

you can see the Royal Palace behind me.
StortingetStortinget
Stortinget

the Parliament of Norway
Along KarljohanAlong Karljohan
Along Karljohan

the main street of Oslo
Royal PalaceRoyal Palace
Royal Palace

the royal palace from another view
old buildingold building
old building

they said it was used as a prison in the world war days...i dont know the name..
stepping foot in oslostepping foot in oslo
stepping foot in oslo

my shoes now in oslo


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb