Going to Oslo


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
September 23rd 2006
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

NAIA NAIA NAIA

leaving manila
After packing my stuff for several weeks until the very last minute before I leave for my flight to Oslo (from Manila via Amsterdam), the time finally came for me to hop on the plane and start the first of a series of my travels. I only had a couple hours of sleep the night before but that didn't help me sleep on the plane at all. For the whole thirteen hours of flight from Manila to Amsterdam I was awake though really sleepy. I watched three movies (I was gonna go for four but my eyes gave up on me) and spent the rest of my time on the plane watching the view outside.

We flew over China, Russia and all the way from Eastern Europe to Amsterdam. I took lots of pictures of eveything I saw outside (they were mostly just clouds and almost looked entirely the same). I even saw Berlin and recognized the Brandenburg Gate from afar.

And then we finally landed in Amsterdam. I still had a couple of hours to spare before my connecting flight to Oslo departs so I used some of it and looked around the Schiphol airport. When I
my mealmy mealmy meal

my breakfast/lunch on board klm
went to the comfort room I saw that both my eyes were bloodshot red from having no sleep. I took more pictures while I was heading to the gate and then I got lost. Well, not really lost but I went to the wrong gate because I have misread my boarding pass. I noticed that the gate I went to was totally desserted so I checked my boarding pass and found out that I went to the other end of the airport. So i made my way to the right gate but I was surprised that there were still only two people who have arrived before me.

I waited for half an hour before we got on the plane. When we arrived at Oslo, the crew of the plane said that it was 15*C that night (it was 23*C in Amsterdam) and I was kinda hoping that it would be higher than that since I still want a taste of late summer.

Anyway, we arrived at ten pm but the duty free shops were already closed. I looked for my auntie who lives in Oslo and was gonna pick me up but I saw no signs of her.
route maproute maproute map

going to amsterdam
I looked for her all around the airport and even went outside but I went back in again since I was feeling cold already. I sat down at the waiting area and waited for a few more minutes. I checked the address of my aunt that my mom gave me and asked for a map at the information desk. I tried to find where she lives but I had no idea where to start looking. I decided to exchange my 100 USD (i had to use the machine since the counters are already closed) and bought a phonecard and a botte of juice. I had no idea that Norway was expensive so I was surprised that with the 630+ kroner I had from my 100$ all that was left was a 500 kroner bill and some coins.

I tried to call my aunt but wasn't able to contact her so I called my mom and told her to call my aunt and said that I'm already at the aiport. It was my mom's fault after all because she told my aunt that I'm arriving the day after at 10am and not that night at 10pm. But the day endep up fine since my aunt had finally picked me up at 12:30 am. I was really tired after all that and for not having enough sleep for two days.

So that was how my flight went to Oslo. Time to explore the city but a good night sleep will really help me get back enough energy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

chinachina
china

we're somewhere over china
snowy mountainssnowy mountains
snowy mountains

i love these mountains though it's not entirely covered with snow
up aboveup above
up above

i like this pic
berlinberlin
berlin

this is berlin from above
cant sleepcant sleep
cant sleep

i have problems sleeping on planes...
schiphol airportschiphol airport
schiphol airport

airport in amsterdam..
my shoes againmy shoes again
my shoes again

just waiting for boarding


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0973s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb