Me Cleaning Toilets - God must be working in me!!!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
September 1st 2005
Published: September 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

I ended up spending about 2.5 hrs at the police station but now I have a very colorful Norwegian work permit visa on my passport. One of the second year girls went with me so we were able to get to know each other better. We arrived back at the house in time for PT and then had a really awesome praise and worship time. Then we had lunch and had a teaching entitled “You are a soldier.” It was discussing what it means to be a part of the Jesus Revolution Army. The leader went into the background on the Salvation Army - it was really pretty cool. Then he went on to say as soldiers for Christ we must
1. live an unselfish lifestyle
2. don’t just wait around to find out what your calling is - God has already commanded all of us to go and make disciples of all the nations and as you take steps to do this the rest will become visible and it will in the process prepare you for what is coming next
3. when living in the will of God you will endure hardships (whether you feel good or not is not an indication of whether you are in the will of God)
4. Do hard work  many people have dreams but few are willing to do the amount of work to see them come to pass (‘some dream of changing the world, others stay awake and do it)
can’t let God be our excuse for laziness and just say you are waiting for God
5. Must take initiative
6. Not live a life according to our feelings - Bible tells us to live by faith not by sight, nor by feelings. Our emotions are not steady, they go up and down but they do not adjust who God is. No matter how we feel each day God is still on the throne and still worthy of our praise and worship. He is constant, that is why we can live by faith in Him. Therefore we should live according to who He is not according to how we feel.
7. Spiritual matters - Do not let your mind limit what God wants to do through you
Despite our shortcomings God can still work through us if we just let Him
We are unlimited because God lives in us

After dinner I had to clean the bathroom. Each group has to do cleaning and kitchen duty once a week. I got the wonderful task of cleaning 3 toilets and 3 showers along with the rest of the bathroom. I think may have cleaned maybe 1 or 2 toilets in my life. I guess it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. God must really be working in me!

Tonight was a teaching on getting support partners. It is so crazy to think I have only been here a week! It feels like at least a month but in a really good way. Now I am really tired so I am heading to bed! Tomorrow are auditions and interviews. I am going to do the dance audition just for the experience (it should be a good laugh). I love you all and thank you soooo much for all of your emails. You all mean more to me than I could possibly express. I hope you are having a wonderful week.





Advertisement



11th September 2005

Hello There!!
Hon Saw your marvelous pics. What a beautiful country.. B,you sound great and sounds like you are with such godly people to give you support on this wonderful journey !! Take care and stay warm. God Bless you !! Love sylvia

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb