I'm at the Top of the World.......


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Nord-Aurdal
July 31st 2014
Published: July 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

A Beautiful Drive


Additional maps: Untitled

I woke this morning with only a few hours sleep but feeling great. Went down to the cottage and got a coffee. Gry and I got breakfast ready. I tried caviar on my bread but did to care for it. Some of the items available for the open faced breakfast sandwich included a number of cheeses, horse meat, salami, caviar, chocolate spread and tomatoes. I actually quite like the meals and the fashion I which they are served.

After changing, we got ready to go for a drive to a Stave church. first stop was to pick up Thea who just passed her drivers test. We then drove for some time and stopped at a grocery store to purchase food lunch. We then traveled to the Stave church (see map)

The stave church (see pictures) was fascinating! http://www.hedalen.no/stavkirka/english.htm we had a guided tour. Pictures were not suppose to be taken but I managed to take one. So many interesting stories were told by our girl from the dragons on the church doors to the paintings on the walls and the Madona being left at this Stave.

From there we drove back home taking another enjoyable scenic tour Through the mountains. Lots of twist and turns in the road driving on the edge of the mountain. We stopped for pictures, also to pick some cloudberry (picture). The cloudberry resembles a large blackberry but is yellow/orange in colour. I thought it tasted similar to peaches. Gry got out and picked them along the road. she's such a sweetie. I am very much enjoying my time with her. We get along so well and are very similar in our likes and dislikes. This makes for great visits.

We had a lovely dinner then a visit from Margaret, a farrier also a friend of the family's. She is a very knowledgable woman and spoke very good English to accommodate me.

Andy took me up to the hill where he made the first call to me Over four years ago. I felt a lump in my throat as I remembered back thinking I would never find Andy And now all this is like a dream. I am so fortunate to have this time to get to know him. Gry says we are much alike in our mannerisms. Also that Andreas and Nancy Are like us. This I find so intense resting
Drivers testing centerDrivers testing centerDrivers testing center

Picking up Thea who just passed her drivers test!
given we were not only raised but two different families living twp very different lives but quite literally two worlds apart (he in Norway and me in Canada).

Tonight I read Peter Pan to the kids 😊 they don't know what I am saying but they humor me by sitting close and pretending to listen 😊

I am enjoying every aspect of my visit and so appreciative for the kindness I am shown.

Contemplating adding one more day to my visit 😉 will know more after Sunday

God Nite


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



1st August 2014
image

A dream come true...
Wonderful pictures, such a lovely life, so glad you are enjoying yourself, I couldn't be happier with all the images of everyone and everything..I am thoroughly enjoying myself through them! Hugs and kisses to all! :)
1st August 2014

eating horse
Just curious are ya'll eating the horse you both fell off of? Lol. Looks like you are having a fabulous time. Xoxoxo

Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb