A Bumpy Ride x2!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Hønefoss
July 29th 2014
Published: July 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I woke to beautiful sunshine coming through my window and he sounds of horses playing in the near by yard. They were frisky on this morning. I sat on the bench swing as I watched the fog come over the mountains while drinking my coffee. It was a peaceful moment to enjoy the beautiful scenery. Andy joined me then we went and watered the horses. What a lovely morning to spend with my brother! . I laughed as I watched two of horses bite one another in play like two children fighting for attention.

Soon, everyone was awake and breakfast was on it's way. We enjoyed a lovely meal of scrambled eggs, bacon, bread, apple juice (or coke) and a number of cheese spreads. The fantastic solid wood kitchen table accommodated the 6 of us comfortably with lots of elbow room to spare.

Following breakfast, we tidied up, showered and packed to go boating at the lake. We stopped briefly at the grocery store to re-tie the tube in the boat, buy hair colour for Thea and pick up a few treats. While there we bumped into Joan who was purchasing the food for the evening's dinner. A beautiful drive of 30 minutes through a round-about and a tunnel (see pictures) while singing cheeses 70s songs (ok ok I loved it!) took us to a remote lake surrounded by mountains in Noresund. Boat in the water, tube blown up, everyone in their swim gear and we were ready to rock and roll! Andy was like a child with a new toy, so excited to try out his new propeller. A number of tours around the lake as I soaked up the beauty in what nature was offering then tHe tubing began. The mountains were so beautiful in the distance, the water so very calm and the weather was perfect! We could see a ski lodge and hill on the right and beautiful homes and farms on the left.

Kids first then Gry and I took over 😊 We had great fun riding the waves as Andy attempted to tip us over. I managed to get up on my knees as Gry laid on her belly. I found this easier on the back but Gry has a bad knee therefore this would not work for her.

Having exhausted Andy at his boat driving skills, we loaded up the car once again to head back to Snaret. Most songs on this journey were more age appropriate for Thea and of course I enjoyed them too! Adele and the cup song were at the top of the list!

Back at Snaret and without even asking, the children unloaded the car and boat putting things away. Even Andreas, the four year old! I admire the respect and sense of responsibility that the kids have here with Gry and Andy. This has been evident while preparing meals as well.

Dinner was at Joan's this evening also known as Canora. Everyone changed into proper dinner clothes and we headed up the hill. The kids by foot, Gry Andy and I by 4 wheeler. There Joan greater us with pink champagne. The table was set outside and it was a beautiful evening. Andy showed me the place where his father's ashes were scattered and Gry shared a story about a foal that was born on the day Erik Andreas died. This foal came down to the area while they did a service for Eric and stood by her side running it's head on her. This foal has grown now and roams the grounds here. Dinner was lovely, as was the tour of her home. I offered to help do dishes but with no running water, Joan needed to boil her water first. i was shown how the house looked in 1968 when Erik finished building it while Joan and Andy were visiting Canada. It amazes me they had no plumbing, indoor bathroom and not a great deal of space. aside from the space, Joan still has no indoor plumbing.

Back down the hill, we parted ways to change for horse back riding. geared up, horses saddled, I managed to get on and ride down the bill to the corral where Gry wanted to test her horse out. the horse was a ting up a little while getting the tack on. Both of us in there, we circled a bit walking in opposite directions. "let's trot a little, get him to follow me" says Gry. Ok...and we did but then the horses decided to get a little silly which would have been fine if Gry and I were. to riding them. We both ended up falling off pretty badly and drag a very short distance. I landed on my right butt cheek and right elbow and Gry also seemed to have the bast majority of her injuries on her right side but they seemed to be less localized then mine. beat up pretty bad, she said that both horses need to be rode so this wasn't the last thing they remembered. She got on a rode while I help the other thinking I was going to pass out from the pain. I could only imagine how she was feeling up there. We managed to get the horses un tacked, back in the paddock and crawl ourselves to the house. We put bags of frozen food on our injuries, took several pain killers and washed it down with a drink lol. We could not help but to laugh from time to time at either the size of my right butt cheek or the just the event.

After licking our wounds for a bit on the couch, we retreated to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Tea and me at lakeTea and me at lake
Tea and me at lake

Sweetheart of a girl
Andreas and meAndreas and me
Andreas and me

In my bunkie


Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb