Week 5 and 6


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
August 12th 2017
Published: August 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

New YorkNew YorkNew York

Will this be my next 'Dive'?
Fully aware that writing about a tedious and boring schedule of gym/eat/sleep day in, day out is not the most exciting thing to do, let alone reading about it, I have decided to cluster week 5 and week 6 into a single post. Probably disappointing the hordes of faithful readers that expected a post last week, I can only apologize and say that last week was a week of little progress on all fronts. The weight loss stalled a bit and on the job front opportunities were few (which was a good thing, given the deadline of August 15th is rapidly approaching). The only news worth mentioning was an opportunity for a program in New York. Unfortunately the prospect client stopped replying after I mentioned my daily rate. Given that the bank in question is a private bank, I would assume they are used to daily rates that surpass the 100 USD (admitted; mine surpassed that mark by a mile or two, but still...).

This week there was a new low on the scale and I'm proud to mention that I broke the 105 barrier. And even prouder that I didn't have to stand on one leg, balancing on the side of the scale to influence the reading slightly in my favor.

A new opportunity presented itself for a long term (3+ years) assignment in London. The outlook is good, however the decision is to be taken not before end of August. So my decision of this week is that all is open until August 15th, apart from the London job. That one (and only that one) will get a due date of September 1st.

Meanwhile I have made an investment in new/additional batteries and a LCD screen for my GoPro (no product placement but in case GoPro wants to endorse my trip, feel free to contact me 😉) and have done some research on dive lamps (open to offers from manufacturers to mention their great product in this blog).

Next week will be focused on sorting out my dive gear, ensure my electronics (camera, lamp, iPad, laptop) are all in working order and the gaps are filled (for sure I'll need new speedo's and with the killer body I'm working on, this time they can be tiny and in bright colors). Because last week I didn't get round to arranging the visa, this will also get priority on the to-do list.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb