Week 4


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
July 30th 2017
Published: July 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

After returning from London my fitness app showed a tremendous amount of calories burnt, but the scales showed an even larger amount of calories consumed; I had gained 1.2kg 😞 English breakfasts, craft beers, cheese boards, cold cuts platters and 'healthy' dinners apparently aren't the way to go when you are trying to lose weight.

So back to the gym with extra determination and the goal to be on track at the end of the week. The goal is to weigh less than 107kg (yep, indeed I had lost control of the body mass for a while) by the end of the week.

This week no news out of London on new assignments, and with Mid August approaching fast all signs are green for the dive adventure. On Wednesday, I had lunch with a friend who posed the biggest threat to the Bali trip (he usually has great assignments for me on very short notice). With only one remote possibility before Mid August, but more options after the Bali trip, that threat seemed averted. At the moment there are only 4 options left and of the most promising the outcome will be known next week Tuesday.

Since Indonesia is a 'visa country' for Dutch citizens, I have started to check on how to aqcuire a visa for 6 months (or longer) so I can complete the dive instructor course without having to travel outside of Indonesia to renew my visa. Although when push comes to shove, I could be persuaded to make a couple of dives on the great barrier reef once a month 😊 Next week's task is to visit the Indonesian embassy and either try to get the visa or to get the process started. It can be that the dive center needs to 'sponsor' the application.

The gym routine, in combination with a strict diet (healthy food and no beer), proved to be effective. This morning the scales showed 106.2kg :D Although people tell me that losing the first 10kg is easy, this first month has not been extremely hard but definitely no walk in the park. To lose weight requires a lot of determination, both in staying (or in my case becoming) active and in controlling the consumption of food and alcohol.

As a means of motivation, I have added a pic my temporary home from October to January.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb