The Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
October 25th 2009
Published: November 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Doin it like the Dutch, Island of TerschellingDoin it like the Dutch, Island of TerschellingDoin it like the Dutch, Island of Terschelling

Visiting one of Holland's islands was the only time I had the courage to hire a bike. On the mainland-they are speed demons. It was actually quite liberating riding around the island without a helmet ,with the wind blowin through my hair.
Holland falls into the category of rich western europe-and funnily enough-its financial prosperity only adds to my reasoning of why I think this country is so unique,and why every other nation,not just the rich,should aspire to be more like this one.
That I know is a big statement to make,but if anyone is deserving of it-it's the Dutch.

Geographically,this country is so tiny that if you were to be scanning the world globe,blinking and missing it would be entirely probable-but the manner in which the people carry themselves and their ability to lead (in my opinion) on the no small matter of social progression, more then compensates for any physical shortcomings that fall their way.

It has become well known for its liberal stance on policies towards drug use, prostitution,euthanasia..and the list goes on..but you would be mistaken if this led you to assume that all the locals must be falling out of the coffeeshops high as a kite (the tourists have that ground covered), are raving sex addicts and have simply gone nuts with so much freedom. On the contrary, I think it's because of such civil liberties that the Dutch seem to be so content with life, and their national psyche is one of richness in life, not richness in a fickle material world.
I believe they are the physical embodiment of the notion,that if you give citizens freedom of choice,they might just respect you and not abuse the system in return.
During my nearly two month stay;unlike most other countries, never did I get the sense that people were striving for something more, rushing to get somewhere bigger or better,desperate to have that big flat screen TV or the latest model of a designer car; what I could sense was this overwhelming gratitude for what lay in front of them and for them to be in wanting of anything more would be absurd,let alone greedy.

All in all,the Dutchies - their outlook on life,their fondness for whistling no matter the circumstance (shopping,riding their bikes,cooking),the way they speak their funny guttural language, how they say ooohkway instead of OK,naay instead of NO,how they eat sprinkles (100's and thousands)on their toast for breakfast..(this list really could go on).. really did just charm my socks off.

For me,they are on par with the sweetness of the Romanian people-but with one vital difference. Where Holland has been hit with the full force of tourism and have come out the other end of it seemingly not embittered by the experience,the same can't be said of Romania yet..who is to say that in 5-10 years when I think more tourists will be catching onto the appeal of Eastern Europe, that they won't come out the other end losing some of that sweetness.

My new affinity with Holland is such, that whilst in my next destination of Turkey my head whipped around like it would hearing an Australian accent when I heard the Dutch language being spoken..and more significantly I understood what was actually being said... "dank u wel,tot ziens", means "thankyou,see you soon"..
But even more surprising then that is what has just happened to me now, in the internet cafe while writing this. My ears just pricked up again. I've just interrupted a middle aged couple from their computer time to ask if they are Dutch after I heard that unmistakeable,impossible to master, throat language.Was I correct in my guess?Yes indeedy..and did I do a little fist pump in guessing it right?Yes indeedy.
Now I'm feeling strangely nostalgic for the Dutch language.
First time running into Dutch people in India;they just happen to sit down next to me as I'm writing about their lovely country...lifes like that!?

I actually didn't take as many photos of Holland as I should have, but maybe it's because I subconsciously knew that I would have future plans to go back to this little country very soon- a plan I had worked out a couple of days after leaving.
Three words- working holiday visa.

If I had played the word association game with "Holland" before I had visited- my answers would have been- marijuana,clogs,windmills...

Now my answers would be-content,playful,sincere and above all else, admirable.





I really shouldn't write about my travels through Holland without mentioning how in debt I am to Aike for letting me stay with him on and off while I ventured through his country.Helping me save financially was the least of it,he gave me the opportunity to see firsthand,from more than an average tourist perspective,of what it means to be Dutch-and he went out of his way to help me when I needed it.
Aike is a perfect example of why these clog wearing people are so special, in my eyes.



I nearly forgot to mention how I stopped in London for a few days-in a nutshell, I was only there for such a short amount of time that I just did the usual touristy things one would expect when in London and then I went and jumped out of a plane and then got stuck in the underground for a couple of hours while someone was under the train.



Next stop, journey east to Istanbul..where the Turkish men brought a whole new meaning to the term 'friendly'.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

DelftDelft
Delft

If someone were to ask me what Holland looks like..I would say, "take yourself back to childhood and you are about to build a dollhouse, what do you envision it to be?".....
Terschelling IslandTerschelling Island
Terschelling Island

Little cottage...
Last train ride..to the airportLast train ride..to the airport
Last train ride..to the airport

Holland is so lush with green that I couldn't help but be envious, knowing that Australia would aspire to be like this if it wasn't for that damn drought.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb