Sayin goodbye the last time to AMSTeRdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
July 12th 2009
Published: July 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up around 930 to be prepared for this afternoon train. John was already up and at em. Lonne had just started setting up the table in the living room for breakfast. I set up the computer to check for a hostel in Amsterdam. Probably a good idea to book one now since I wouldnt be there till late at night. I added them to facebook to keep in contact with them as well. Sat down for breaky and lots of coffee to go around. Didnt even feel that hung which was great. Maybe im a borderline alky and it doesnt effect me anymore. Hope not.
I told John about the next station I had to catch a bus to get to and he was like oh thats just as close as the other one cause were right between them so that gave us an extra hour to hang out. That was pretty convient. Time went by really fast. He showed me what he had been doing on his time off ripping apart the room next to us. WOW lotsa work to do. Got all my stuff packed up and threw the bag by the car. I didnt know how long it was gonna take to get there so I wanted to give as much time as I could. Sucks that I could only be there for like 24 hrs. Wasnt easy for them either im sure they wanted me to stay longer. Thats always the trouble with staying with family.
Lonne was down at the ranch with the horses with the girls. Doing some training thing. I said goodbye and thanked them for having me. They were all really sad to see me go but I had to.
John and I left soonafter. We had a really good talk about Relationships and family. Kinda got a little emotional but didnt show anything. He told me about the girls father and how he wasnt much of a dad. This was his new life and he was happy to help the girls and be there for them. Only Heidi wasnt too happy with the whole thing. She had come to accept it eventually but it was very tough on her. Got to the station and JOhn said they had completly changed this since he had seen it last. HE hadnt been on a train for 20 years!!! Waited on the track with me untill the train was there. Waved goodbye feeling pretty sad. Always happens to me.
Took my seat on the train. This train was going as far as Hamburg and it was packed. Got to the ferry which went to Germany and was another train on the ferry trick. Fod was super expensive. Almost bought some cologne but didnt. Not that cheap. Beer was super cheap though. 10 Euro for 24!!!! WOW im doing it. Even though im gonna have to lug it around it will save me in Amsterdam where beer is Expensive. Chilled up top on the deck and got some sun.
Jumped back on the train and no one stole my seat which was nice. Had to transfter trains to get to Amsterdamn from Hambrg. The train was sooooooooo packed from Hamburg. No seat at all. had to sit in the baggage compartment and have ppl pass by me the whole time. SUCKED. Good for the wind as the only two windows that were open were right beside me. Met a guy from Turkey going to Amsterdam to see his family. Had a few beers on the way. Kinda warm but they were great for the heat. Offered one to the Turkish dude but he didnt need one yet he said. He gave me some fruit which I took.
Got off at the same stop. Train wasnt there for an hour so we had a bit of a chat, being the only ppl there waiting. He had some cake thing I tried. Too sweet for me. He was having a hard time getting ahold of his sister in Amsterdam to pick him up. Train came and we jumped on. He sat in a different place though for some reason. Met some girls from Wisconsin on the train. They had been travelling for a couple weeks now and were heading back to catch the flight home. That was a long way away for me.
Jumped off the train and I felt like I was missing something. SHITTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT my beer. I had like 19 beer on that train that just left. HAHAHAHA someones gonna score with that find. AHHH well i got my moneys worth even though.
Had directions to the hostel all prepared and shit. Found the hostel in like 10 mins in the heart of the red light district.Ahhhh Amsterdam I remember you. I love the little alleys and canals everywhere. Definetly one of my favourite places in the world.Walked into the hostel and told them my name and all. The reception was at the bar of this place called the Globe. It was a sports bar. Asian dude at the reception, seemed like a bit of a hardass. Took the steep steps all the way to the very top room! 20 something beds in this room. WOW. They had lockers and everything. These latinomerican chicks were blazzing right by the no smoking sign!! Funny.
Put my stuff down and took my valubles downstairs to put behind the desk in case. They had wifi in the bar which was nice. There was smoking room next door to the bar where people were all blazzing there as well. I met these two Aussie girls who invited me to share some of their joint!! Alright well if your against smoking you might as well sign out now!!! Just a warning. It was a spliff though. YUCk i hate tobbacco. I asked them how they liked Amsterdam so far and they said they really enjoyed it although they had only been there one night. They bought there stuff at a cafe down the road and were just enjoying there time wandering around. We grabbed a drink at this bar alongside an alley. There were ladies standing in front of the doors with the red light shining above their heads. ROOOOOOOOOOXAAAAAANE
They thought it was hillarious to see the customers come in and out. They told me if they were male they would totally do this. I was like WHAT seriously. Its just not something I could ever do. Paying for it. But they were like its Amsterdam thats why a lot of ppl come here in the first place. HA there was this crazy show on the tv about hanging people by their skin with hooks. YUCK they were playing old rock sing alongs like Brown eyed girl.
They were ready for bed after and I told them about the free tour at 11 am tommorow they were keen to join me on. I kept wandering around going past the windows watching all the giddy guys giggling non stop. Not too many girls around at all. I got tapped at everytime I went through an alley. They were all saying YOUR CUTE YOUR CUTE come here for a second. I JUST WANNA TALK. It was pretty funny. The girls were not bad as far as hookers go. There was lights hung up all over the place. The place pretty much shuts down and you cant buy a beer after 1am for some reason. I grabbed some wings and chips. After that just for fun I bought like ding dong looking thing out of a vending machine restaraunt. Never seen that. You could buy burgers and all sorts of fast food crap. Everything in Amsterdam is pretty expensive even for europe. After that I wandered back to the hostel. Pretty tired now I went upstairs to bed. The guy below me and two other guys were still up watching a movie in front of the bed I was in. They were rolling up joints as they were watching Allie G.Well they start smoking it and after the place is full of smoke this chick who was American i think and older says EXCUSE me can you go downstairs and smoke its not very fair for the rest of us. Fair enough she was right. They said oh sorry yah ok sure in broken english. But this didnt change anything they just lit it up again right after and smoked like 3 joints. My head was killing from it after awhile. It was not the best sleep of my life by any means. THey stayed up smoking till around 5am. COCKS haha
NIght night

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb