Slacking again


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
August 2nd 2005
Published: August 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Zomer CarnavaleZomer CarnavaleZomer Carnavale

Or summer carnavale--cool costumes, scantily clad women, festive music...hey, all we need is some beads and a balcony and this could be a really good time!
(So I actually did start working on this entry on Tuesday, but now I'm finally finishing up on the 8th.)

"Just when I thought I was out, the pull me back in!"

You know the movie...or at least you should if you want my respect. I thought I was about to give up on the blog, but Rowzee says he and Amy like it, and far be it from me to disappoint a fan!

So yeah, Chris is in from Houston this week....just got back from a nice steak dinner at Gauchos followed by some live jazz and a Dommelsch at Danzig on the Plein. Again, it's the little differences that get ya...any idea what a 180 gram steak weighs? If you said about 180 paper clips, then you would be right. Hellifiknow what that means in ounces though!

Last night was another successful quiz night. To be honest, we came in second, but we won the beer round, by gosh, and that's a moral victory we're happy to claim. The Dutch students kicked our butts since there was a whole round devoted to some French comic strip about a cowboy...gee, wonder why THAT one didn't make
Oh, the shameOh, the shameOh, the shame

Hey look, I figured that if I at least had a really ridiculous outfit that I'd get points for humiliating myself. I was right. Shoulda gone for the fuzzy purple coat and hat! Dangit!
it to the states!

Hmm..the weekend. On Friday I was supposed to go to Rotterdam for the Zomer Carnavale (Summer Carnival) for the battle of the drums. This apparently entails some Drumline-style showdown between 4 bands that have to come up with renditions of pre-defined tunes (like Usher's 'Yeah!') along with their own selections. Wish I could tell you how it went, but the weather was crap in Rotterdam, so Shruti, Adam and I decided to get some Italian at La Lanterna, play some pool at The Fiddler, and then go for drinks at the Plein and at Havana. Again, here's another strange European difference: The pool table was smaller than a regular bar table, with smaller pockets. Instead of numbered balls, solids and stripes, there was the eight ball and then 7 yellow and red balls. Sheer madness.

Saturday we actually did make it out to Rotterdam for the parade part of the Zomer Carnavale, which entailed some really cool costumes, some really fruity costume-wearers, and way more cellulite than should be allowed in a thong. Yeech..someone needs to pass a law on this sort of thing. A quick nap and bam...back out again for Dean's going away party. The theme: Pimps and Hos. Sure, it's a tired old theme, but I gotta give credit to the French couple that showed up as Vice Police, waving flashlights around and pretending to bust up the party. "Damn, I wish I thought of that!" I grumbled to myself behind my gold elvis glasses and blue boa (which is a self-admitted really lame excuse for a pimp outfit).

Not much else going on the past week. Had a nice dinner at Zebedeus, which is a little place attached to a big church. The funny thing is that like all places, there's a big beer sign attached to the front of this building and therefore the church. Don't see a lot of that back home, but hey, maybe attendance would be up if ya did!

July Pictures

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb