Finally, a new entry!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
June 18th 2005
Published: June 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Shruti's SATC HousewarmingShruti's SATC HousewarmingShruti's SATC Housewarming

So, an Irishman, and Texan, and a English guy walk into a party....
So it's been almost 2 weeks since my last entry. Terrible, I know, but I've been overcome by the strange new sensation of being busy at work all day. Working all week has the side effect of making me tired and lazy when I get home, so the blog suffers. But it's the weekend now, I've had a good 10 hours of sleep, so here' s an update!

Lemme try and work backwards here, for the sake of my own memory. If you're good and read all the way down, you can see pics of everything I've described. Hey! no skipping down to the bottom...read it first dangit!:

Friday: Met up with Dale, Eugene, Jules and a couple other Shell guys for drinks in one of the other outdoor cafe areas in Den Haag, on account of the nice weather. A couple of Hoegaardens (white, summer beer) and then off to an awesome but pricey Indonesian place where we had something like 15 different dishes. Excellent. After dinner, a trip down to the beach to a dueling piano bar. The place is called Crazy Pianos and is always packed so we thought it would be awesome, but there's just
S so Fresh N double O PS so Fresh N double O PS so Fresh N double O P

Throwin down with Snoop in NL
something about American songs sung with a Dutch accent that throws things off. Next stop, the plein for some dancing at a place called Danzig, which was fun until I nearly suffered a strobe-induced epileptic seizure.

Thursday: Poker Night #2!! John, Vince, Rowzee, Rey...ok, fine, I admit it. I'm playing poker again with a new bunch. But it's not what it seems guys! Honest! I'm proud to report that this poker night didn't end in total disaster like last time where the two 'good' players went out first. Eugene and I actually dueled it out for top 2 spots out of 6 players and I ended up winning. Ah yes, the sweet success of poker victory and bragging rights at the office!

Wednesday: So the best part of buying a ticket to see Snoop Dogg in Rotterdam was when I bought the ticket and the nice Dutch lady asks, "So, where are you from?" and I proudly report to be an American from Texas. She looks at me for a second and goes, so you came all this way to see Snoop Dogg? Haha....touche'. So yup...we took a gang of 7 out to see Snoop drop it like it's hot at the Ahoy! in Rotterdam. Always fun to see Snoop, and even more fun to see a bunch of white Dutch people getting it crunk. Priceless!

Monday: Another shoarma pizza and quiz night at the Cloister. We had a huge turnout of 8 team members (even though the team limit is supposed to be 5). You would think with that amount of grey matter in one team we'd pull of a sweet victory right? Wrong..we lost by 5 points to a team of 3. Ouch. At least I got my game back at pool against Ross and Lewis at Cafe 28 later on!

Saturday: Shruti's Sex and the City theme housewarming party. Yes, its a pink shirt and yes, they already gave me a hard time about it, so let's just skip all the snide outfit-related giggles and get to the action. A great party with lots of fun scandalous pictures that had the entire 3rd floor of the Himalayas building buzzing about on Monday morning. Almost every monitor had pics of our group's secretaries engaging in a friendly, yet totally scandalous looking kiss. Gotta love the lax European work standards around propriety!


Friday: A couple of guys from Houston in the Chemicals group came in from Rotterdam for a night in the Hague. Eugene and I took em to La Lanterna, where at my suggestion, the entire group of us feasted on osso bucco. Feeling fat and sassy from the huge portion of slow-roasted veal and spaghetti, we went to the Buddha bar across the street for Red Bulls and Jagermeister for a hefty price tag of 30 euro for 4 drinks! That's one mistake I won't be making again soon! Next, we met up with the girls for dancing at Havana. Good times, good times.

Ok, so it was too long, you got bored and cheated so here you are...fine: click on the picture link you blog skimmer, you: June Pics



Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb