Sunny with a 50% chance of laziness


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » The Hague
June 6th 2005
Published: June 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Just never gets old, does it?Just never gets old, does it?Just never gets old, does it?

...or maybe it does...the bunny ears were totally Shruti's idea. (Bullwinkle antlers are more my speed). Just being stupid at the Havana dance club.
What can I say, now that I've had a taste of combining blog entries into one big lazy smogasbord of adventure, I'm hooked. Besides, stop being so selfish...wouldn't you rather me have a good time than spend a bunch of man-hours chronicling it for just for you? The answer to that one was yes, by the way.

Anyways, another good weekend hanging out, but with no travels on the agenda. Friday was chill, just some beers at the English pub called The Fiddler and then on to a dance club called Havana. The usual suspects included Eugene, Geoff, Shruti, and her friend Goulistan (did I spell it right?). We found that imitating other really bad dancers was way more fun and less embarassing than creating our own really bad dance moves. I also found out that if you stand right next to one of the guys who is trying to look cool and sip on your drink only exactly when he does that you run the risk of getting beat up. Good times, good times.

Saturday was quite an adventure, as Shruti somehow conned us all into going to a hip-hop event called Urbantown in some big club at the edge of city center. While dodging the super huge jersey types and the ridiculously gay freaky dancer types, we faked like we were wiggity wiggity wack and kinda head-bobbed through all the lame generic stuff until the songs we knew of came on and we got into the music. It's sad when a Justin Timberlake song comes on and you're like 'ooh yeah, I know this one!' but then again, I guess that's not as sad as when Destiny's Child comes on and you find yourself Beyonce-ing it up. I admit nothing, by the way.

By far the coolest part of the weekend was indoor rock climbing. Jen and I checked out a place called the Steep Part that has the biggest indoor climbing wall I've ever seen, not to mention a whole boulder section and even an ice wall. After 30 minutes of belaying and figure-8 knot tying lessons, I had a go up the wall and absolutely loved it. I bought a 3-month pass so I can go make like a monkey and hopefully get some wicked rock-climbing muscles out of it. After rock climbinb, we met up with Shruti and some of her friends to watch
Steep Part Indoor Rock Climbing WallSteep Part Indoor Rock Climbing WallSteep Part Indoor Rock Climbing Wall

...good nane, I think. Look at the size of this thing! I couldn't even get the whole wall in the frame. Yup, I made it to the top. 2 trips up this thing and I'm still tired today...who knew being Spiderman was so tough!
Sin City. Sweet.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb