The French adventure: preface


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Zealand
June 21st 2012
Published: June 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

And here I am, writing my first travelblog entry ever in between learning French and completing that list of 100-things-I-still-need-to-do-before-I-leave.

In about 20 hours, I'll be on a plane to FRANCE and I'll be staying there for no less than 5 weeks! Not that I'll be having one insanely long holiday there, not at all... In my university, every student has to learn a foreign language (and no, English or Dutch don't count) and I had the genious idea of picking French! But, since I lack the time to do all kinds of French courses during my semester, I figured France would be a pretty good place to learn the language. So, the entire month of July, I'll be studying French at the University of Lyon!! Magnifique!

So, why on earth am I already going there in 20 hours? Well, I happen to have a nice uncle who happend to want to get married in Southern-France (more specifically in d'Eze) this saturday. And since going to France, back to Holland and back to France again within 1 week is waste of time and money, staying in France would be the best thing to do. So this friday evening, I'll fly to Nice and drive to Eze (20km from Nice) with my mom, aunt and uncle (not the one getting married though). On Saturday, the wedding will be held and after that I will cruise around d'Eze, Nice and Monaco for 2 days with mom, uncle and aunt, afterwhich I will continue my journey alone and travel to Lyon!



Via this blog I hope to keep you, my friends, family and whoever else is interested, posted about how I spent my days away from home and whether I have gotten insanely homesick yet. Hence I hope you enjoy reading this and keep following my small adventures (that is, if I will have any intesting adventures, since it's also possible that I will turn into a nerd-like francophile who only studies inside her room. Though I am not expecting that)

And lastly, you may wonder why on earth a girl who has never left her native country for over 3 weeks writes in English?! ...Well, I don't really know either, but sometimes I simply prefer English over Dutch. And, since I'll do most writing from places where I won't speak a lot of Dutch, switching around from English to Dutch to French and viceversa will probably get very annoying and problematic, so writing in English in the first place might make things a lot easier. (And I think everyone I know will be able to understand English right?)





Au revoir!

Advertisement



27th June 2012

hi!
its wed.27, i just read your blog, very interesting, also the photograph with the sunset on it! :-) kiss Willem

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb